Coming Clean: The One Where I Tell It Like It Is

For a while now, as I’m sure you’ve gathered by the lack of written content here, those of you stalwarts who are still reading, I’ve not really been loving blogging.

I’ve blogged since early 2008, almost 8 years.

It’s no secret that my new thing is YouTube – I love the creativity of making videos, the interaction, and the crazy ease with which I’ve built an audience well into the hundreds on YT in a matter of months, after slogging away for years at writing a blog without making much headway in that regard.

Say what you like, the reason we all blog and vlog, to a greater or lesser extent, is because we want an audience.  And, without taking anything away from you lovely, lovely people who have read my blog and been with me for many years, something needs to change around here, because I don’t feel that I’m giving my readers the content that they deserve or are necessarily interested in.

I already put out a lot of content on YT that I don’t share here, because I don’t want to push video content on people who are more interested in written content.  I get that not everybody who reads this wants to watch me ramble in glorious technicolour for quarter of an hour at a time.  And that is fine.

Equally, however, I know that there are those of you who read my blog, who also enjoy my videos, so I will continue to post some of my videos on here.

This is not the absolute end of written blog posts: I have been doing the Journal Jar project for many years in written form, and I want to complete that, which I think will take at least another year, so those posts will continue.  And, never say never, there will no doubt be occasional written posts on other topics as well.

But the majority of what I post here, going forward, is going to be video content.  So I hope you’re OK with that.  Equally, I’m fine with you choosing not to watch, or to unsubscribe.  I know that mostly video is not what you signed up for.  And that’s OK – I won’t be offended!

If you do decide to go, then thank you – for reading, for commenting, for being my friend – some of you over a period of years.  It’s been an amazing journey, and one that will stay with me forever.

And forgive me, but I just want to mention a few people who’ve made the journey so special and memorable.

From the early days of blogging, some fabulous buddies – Holly, Kat, Laura MTP, Mo, Amy, apieceofwood – amazing women, each and every one of them.

Elizabeth Y – still miss your blog and amazing bootsale finds.

Lisa Jumble & Jelly – who writes so beautifully about her family that I feel I know them.  We’ve followed the stories of each others’ kids for years now.

Lovely Teresa – looking forward to seeing you in January, honey, for our annual catch-up.

Mumof4 (not putting your real name in lol – I know I slipped up in yesterday’s vid!)- whose emails never fail to put a smile on my face, and who I reckon is a friend for life now

Victoria (F&M) – if Carlsberg made commenters, V, that’d be you – mwah!  Love ya!

Kathleen S – I never told you, but you have the best blog name ever – absolutely love love love everything you write.  Will never stop reading. X

Lynn A – a newish friend, but one with whom I feel I have a genuine rapport, and when I see a comment or an email drop into the inbox with your name on it, I always smile.

And to everybody else, who I haven’t named personally, know that I genuinely appreciate every single comment or like or interaction that I’ve had with all of you who’ve taken the time to read my crap ramblings over the years.

If you decide to stay, again thank you.  And I hope that the content I put out going forward is worthy of your time.

So, I guess that’s it.  Not gonna lie.  Crying a little bit.

See ya.

x

 

16 thoughts on “Coming Clean: The One Where I Tell It Like It Is

  1. I quite enjoy your videos and look forward to seeing them. For me, it’s like visiting with a friend in another country! So I think I’ll stick around!😊

  2. Hey, you’ve got to do what’s best for you – will be sticking around but just not sure how to access your YouTube vids – technophobe!!! Best wishes Sue

  3. I admire people who keep blogs going for years, I used to have one but just struggled eventually to keep it going. Real life became difficult too and as I didn’t want to write about that I felt my blog wasn’t real any more. I really enjoy your videos, esp the boot sales being a boot sale regular myself, so I’m glad to hear you’re keeping those going. All the best, Gill. p.s.. And I miss Elizabeth Y too, hers was one of my favourite blogs.

  4. I’m keeping your blog in my blog list, so I always know when you post. I love the vlog entries too. I think I’ve mentioned before, they are like having you drop in for a chat. 🙂 In fact I just watched one today that I don’t think was mentioned here on blog.

    Thanks for the kind words. ❤

  5. Bless you Caroline, it’s funny how well you feel someone without meeting isn’t it. I thank the blogging world for many friends, whether it’s ones I’ve met or just shared life with here on-line, yourself included.
    Good luck with the YT thing.
    Lisa x

  6. I’m staying around :). I’m a reader rather than a watcher but that is largely due to lack of time. Things should be changing for me soon so that life will be much less busy and I can catch up then

  7. Aww Caroline ,you made my day with your comment and including me with all the other ladies, as well so thank you really touched me !i will definitely be staying as love your blog and equally love your vlogs.I Think you have done so well to keep your blog fresh and interesting for a long time .I am a bit of a procastinator in some things and i can honestly say that since reading your blog ,its made me focus and strive to achieve more .When you have set yourself mini goals and edit add and appreciate etc its given me push in the right direction .often when ive read a book i check on your list ,ready to recommend it to you ,and what do you know its already there ,or i see a book on your list and look out for it so hopefully you will still do the occasional blog post when you feel like it but we still have the vlogs which make me smile you are such a natural in front of that camera xx

  8. Thank you so much, Caroline, for mentioning me in your list and for saying you still miss my blog – that’s lovely to hear (and also thanks to Gill for her kind comment too). It was just what I needed to read this evening as I’ve had a pig of a day with a broken washing machine.

    I’ll certainly keep on reading whatever / whenever you write here but must admit I’m really enjoying your YT vlogs, especially the ebay ones – they’re incredibly inspiring and very informative – and you’re a natural in front of the camera.

    Thanks again for the mention, it really made my day.

  9. I have read your blog for a few years and have loved it, I also love your Youtube videos and am looking forward to seeing many more x Dawn

  10. Hi, I’ve enjoyed your blog but I’ve found you on Youtube so I’ll be following you there! As a teeny tiny ebay seller (not me – sales) I sometimes get despondent and feel like packing it in, but knowing that you relist things 2/3 times sometimes has given me more confidence. Love your purple hair too.

  11. I’m staying too! I just need to buy some speakers for my work PC so I can start watching your vlogs whilst I’m supposed to be working 🙂

Leave a Reply

