Old Friends, New Friends & Winter’s On Its Way

It’s been a manic week here.  Again.  The evenings are drawing in and there’s a chill in the air.

We are off to Lyme Regis with the fam (my parents and my brother and his family) this weekend, and I can’t wait, if nothing else than to have a brief respite from sitting at the computer!

As well as work, I’ve had rather a social week.

I caught up with old friends for coffee who I haven’t seen for YEARS properly.  Claire and I met through work many moons ago, and we went on to have our sons quite close together.  We spent quite a bit of time together when the kids were little, along with her sister, Sarah, who had a daughter a similar age.  Once the kids went to school, we drifted apart, as you do.  But it was lovely to catch up again this week, and to hear that they both enjoy my blog and videos.  Weird in a way, though – as obviously they both knew all about my life, and I didn’t know anything about theirs!  If you’re reading, girls, it was a great to see you both, and let’s not leave it too long until the next time.

That same evening, I was invited to a get together of ladies who live in the road I live in – about a dozen of them.  It’s a long road, and I didn’t know any of them, apart from the one who had invited me, who I met a couple of weeks ago when I went to her house to collect something I’d bought on Gumtree!  I’ll be honest, I was quite apprehensive about going by myself, but it was actually really nice, and everybody was friendly and welcoming.  The group started when they all met when there was a street party for the jubilee, and they get together once a month or so.  It was great to meet some new people.

Then yesterday, I went out for an early walk with one of the girls from my book club, which we started earlier this year.  We both work from home and spend our days alone, so we both really enjoy getting out in the fresh air, getting some exercise and having a good old chinwag.  When we’re both in the country for long enough (she’s a travel agent, and is away even more than me – she’s off to China for 12 days today, the lucky thing!), we’re going to make it a regular thing.

Book Club, as mentioned above, has also been a fabulous new addition to my life.  There are six of us, none of whom knew each other previously, and it’s a good mix with some interesting characters.  We have monthly meetings in each other’s houses, and have read some books we’ve loved and some we’ve hated, too!  We’re all quite opinionated, so never a dull moment.

I wrote earlier this year about being disillusioned and disappointed by a couple of my older friends, and looking back, I was absolutely right in my decision to cut them out of my life.  Which sounds far more dramatic than it actually was.  I just removed their numbers from my phone, removed them from my social media, and didn’t contact them again.  I’ve seen one of them since in a social situation with other people, and it’s fine, we’re perfect civil and pleasant, but there’s no connection there any more as far as I’m concerned.

It’s been really refreshing to meet new people, make new friends and get out of my comfort zone a little bit.  A change, as they say, is as good as a rest.

Happy Weekend, everybody!

12 thoughts on “Old Friends, New Friends & Winter’s On Its Way

  1. Have lovely that your neighbours were bought together by the jubilee and that it has sparked off a regular thing.
    Lots of different opportunities to meet different people, it’s good to have many interests which can make you mix with a variety of people.
    Hope you and your clan have a lovely break away.
    Lisa x

  2. That is a great way to meet folk. I am meeting lots of new people with the kids starting new schools and I hope to find a few on the same wavelength. Also have current friends I have also grown out of. Glad to know this is the norm!

  3. It was great to catch up with you ‘in person’ again Caroline! We will make plans to meet up after you get back from your holiday….have a great time! X

  4. Hope you had a good weekend away with the family Caroline ,and good weather as well .That was very nice of the ladies in your road to include you ,its good to meet new people keeps life interesting and equally as good to keep in touch with old friends if you want to lol.we have had old close friends cut us off,no disagreement or anything just stopped sending christmas and birthday cards and ringing etc,we are their daughters godparents and the daughters still send cards etc so very strange .Like you if we were to bump into them i would be civil but that would be all.
    Your book club sounds fun ,how long has that been going now? Do your meetings last long ? Its good that its carrying on .

    • Hi Lynn – we started book club in April this year. We meet at 10 in the morning on a Wednesday once a month, and meetings usually last about an hour. We end up talking about all sorts of things other than books!

      >

Leave a Reply

