Edit, Add & Appreciate Monday #1

You know me, I get bored easily, and I’m bored with the ‘Life Last Week’ series at the moment.

So I wanted to start something new, but bearing in mind my current struggles with a lack of time, something that would work as a series both in writing and on video.

I don’t think any of my current readers will have been with me long enough to remember waaaaayyyy back in 2009, I ran a series called ‘Edit, Add & Appreciate Sunday’.  Each Sunday, I’d write a blog post listing something I wanted to edit, something I wanted to add and something I wanted to appreciate for the week ahead.

It was a simple and effective way of setting some goals and shaping how I wanted my week to look.

These are the original instructions Karen (the creator of the idea, whose blog Graceful Creative is long defunct now) wrote , which explain the concept a little more clearly:

Edit one thing–material objects, negative thoughts, habits, or activities that don’t reflect what you want. It doesn’t have to be a physical thing; Sometimes bad habits and negative thoughts are more detrimental than physical clutter.

Add something. Bring in something or reinvent one thing in your life – thoughts, habits, activities, objects. Start a new project or get something done you’ve been meaning to do for ages.

Appreciate something or someone already in your life. Hug your children and tell them how special they are. Email a friend and make a date to get together. Take the time to talk to someone serving you in a shop. Frame that favourite piece of art.

And while looking for something fresh and new for the blog, it struck me that this would work really well for me right now – just a couple of sentences for each section – a bitesized weekly blog post and a short accompanying video, which will be less than 5 minutes long. Readers and watchers can dip in and out of one or the other, or both. The plan is to post it first thing on a Monday morning each week.

So, to kick off, here are my Edit, Add and Appreciate goals for the this week:

Edit

Facebook. It feels like a bit of an unproductive time drain at the moment, and I’m finding myself increasingly irritated by some of the stuff I read on there. So I’m going to have a break from it.

Add

Looking after my nails. I was doing really well with this at the beginning of the year, but it’s slipped, and they are in terrible condition now. I need to get back into the habit of using Solar Oil on them every morning and evening.

Appreciate

Our paintings. When you live with something, you can look at it every day but stop ‘seeing’ it, if that makes sense. I’m going to make time to enjoy all our paintings this week and really look at them properly. Blog post coming up with pics later in the week.

And here’s the accompanying video … slightly longer than five minutes this first week, as it includes an introduction to the series, as well as the  week’s goals.

8 thoughts on “Edit, Add & Appreciate Monday #1

  1. Oh this is a good idea. I could have said that word for word re Facebook. Your nails looked quite good and shiny in the film. I have yellow shellac on mine at the moment. Don;t know what I was thinking. I look like a banana. Very true about art/paintings. We need to re-think ours and change some around. Hubby suggested we got rid of some bits which I was quite surprised about….. but yes – I don’t always appreciate them. Look forward to seeing you share some of yours!!

  2. Such a good idea. Bite size things you want to try and change and they can be introduced in a way you are more likely to stick with too.
    I only use FB for wishing friends happy birthday, thankfully I’ve really got dragged into the whole thing.
    Lisa x

    • Thanks, Lisa – it’s a double-edged sword, for sure. I had a lovely meet up with a very old friend in Brighton recently, which wouldn’t have happened if we hadn’t reconnected via FB, but yes, there are certainly some down sides as well x

      >

  3. I agree saying something on your blog and then revisiting each months seems to help lots of bloggers. I am currently trying to think of a hobby or craft I would like to try.

  4. I really like this idea Caroline,i think in our busy lives its a good way of achieving mini goals! I am going to try and edit candy crush, its so addictive,dont know why its drawn me in so much as i dont play any other games and cant stand amusement arcades etc,but there you go !
    Funnily enough my add’s are the examples you gave in your vlog,applying hand cream every night and washing up straight away and not leaving it,ive been doing these adds for a while and want to continue it.
    I’m going to appreciate the last of the summer flowers ,we have lots of fuschias,lily’s and usual summer flowers in pots ,placed on patio that i can see when washing up or better still when sitting in garden with a glass of wine ,which we have done this weekend thanks to lovely weather .

Leave a Reply

