Six Things I’ve Learnt In My 46th Year

It’s my birthday tomorrow.  I’m going to be 47 – eugh.  Am I older and wiser than I was a year ago?  I’m not sure, but I’ve certainly learnt some things over the last 12 months.

1.   Friendships change and and some dissolve over time. And that’s OK. Not everything lasts forever.

2.   Change is good. I enjoy change. It’s far more important to me than I ever gave it credit for, and it energises me and excites me enormously.  Why did I never realise this previously?

3.   My blood pressure and cholesterol levels are good. This is a great thing, and probably not one that I deserve. My eyesight is, however, getting worse by the day. When the times comes to give into specs, I will do so gracefully.

4.   I can’t always control what happens. I CAN, however, control my reaction to what happens. Adjusting my reactions to things that happen is the most important thing, not the things themselves.

5.   You can disagree with someone’s opinions and beliefs, but it doesn’t make them (or you) wrong. And it’s probably best just not to go there when it’s to do with religion or politics.  Especially when alcohol has been consumed.

6.   Put the camera down and iPhone away. Soak up the moment, because it won’t last forever.  Unless you’re vlogging it, obviously 😉

18 thoughts on “Six Things I’ve Learnt In My 46th Year

  1. Have a great birthday. I find as I’ve got older that the release from worrying about what people think of you is freeing. With it had also come the ability to say “no” and stick to it what I mean it. It’s not all doom and gloom!

  2. Hi Caroline.Happy Belated Birthday ,i hope that you had a lovely day,my laptop has been off again all week so only just catching up !47 is such a good age believe me ,im 59 and the thought of my next birthday in february,to quote you “eugh ” ten times over !
    Friendships can and do change ,saying that this week i went to dinner with four friends that i used to work with years ago ,we meet up once a year and have done for the last 30,omg thats scary , but we always have such a lovely evening.!

  3. Sounds a perfect day Caroline ,i thought vino would be included lol ,when i was out with those friends only myself and Karen had wine ,we are the two still working ,so that was our excuse ,as a white wine drinker im now enjoying re discovering rose ,do you have a favourite ? Karens brother in law has recently had a new house built,his contribution is a cellar with about 300 bottles of wine their house warming party should be a good one !

  4. Happy belated birthday. I hope you enjoyed the day. I like your list.sounds like a productive year. I sure there must be a good story that goes with revelation #5…. A future post entry perhaps?!?😉

    • Hi Nancy – I’m going to let discretion be the better part of valour on this occasion and not share the story behind it – but yes, you’re right, it was a good one! x

      >

  5. Only just catching up with your blog, but wanted to say that you make some excellent points. From the vast old age of 65 I hate that phrase “it’s only a number” no it isn’t it’s what it does to our bodies. I hate the fact that I have hair growing where it has no business to be and losing it where it should be. I hate the fact that my little granddaughter asks me why my neck is all wrinkly and that I get so tired when trying to do a bit of gardening. I hate wearing glasses and I am still the world’s biggest worrier. My mother at 80 said to me “there’s no fun in getting old” but the alternative is so much worse!

Leave a Reply

