Recipe: Summer Sweet Chilli Chicken

Photo 30-07-2015 19 36 34Much as I love my slow cooker, I find myself using it far less during the summer months, but this is a recipe that is the exception to the rule as it’s perfect for summer – light, fresh and delicious.  Oh, and easy to prepare in advance, of course, so you can sit and enjoy a nice glass of something cool, rather than slave in the kitchen for hours – my kinda cooking!

Ingredients

ingred
3 to 4 people

  • 2 good sized chicken breasts
  • 1 small tin of pineapple
  • 1 tin of kidney beans
  • 1 medium mango, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 chilli, chopped finely
  • Fresh ginger, chopped finely
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Sweet chilli sauce
  • Fresh coriander

instructions

Add all the ingredients except the coriander to the slow cooker.  With regard to the spices and chilli sauce, add amounts to your own tastes – we like it fairly hot, but if you don’t, you may want to leave out the chilli and just use the sweet chilli sauce.

Approximate cooking times are 4 hours on high, or 8 on low.

If it’s looking too runny, leave the lid off the slow cooker for the last hour to thicken the mixture.  I do this with almost everything I cook in the slow cooker.

Once cooked, shred the chicken, then mix back in, and serve with rice – jasmine rice goes rather well with this.  Add chopped coriander before serving.

Like I said, super easy and super tasty.  Let me know what you think if you make it.

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Summer Sweet Chilli Chicken

    • Funnily enough, I generally agree with you, and the rest of my famliy aren’t particularly keen on it either, but this dish just gets the thumbs up from us all for some weird reason! x

  1. I love the look of that dish and would defiantly give it a go, John wouldn’t touch the pineapple,he says you shouldn’t mix fruit with savoury foods, I disagree. x Dawn

Leave a Reply

