Shopping In China: Ali Express Haul

My newest guilty shopping weakness: Ali Express.  It’s sorta kinda like Chinese eBay, I guess, but only new stuff, not second-hand.

It’s so, so, soooo … incredibly cheap!  Like, crazy cheap.

I’ve been using the site for about eight months or so now, and have bought scarves, jewellery, handbags and purses.  But you can buy anything and everything, from furniture to baby clothes to party hats.  To start with, I was a bit nervous buying from China and having to use a credit card, but I must say it’s all been very smooth sailing – I have only had one issue with an item not arriving, and I got an immediate refund without any quibble, so I do feel fairly safe shopping with them.

The only downside is that things can take a long time to arrive – up to six weeks, but sometimes within a week.  Mostly an average of 3 to 4 weeks, I’d say.

Anyway, I thought I’d show you a few of the bits and bobs I’ve bought recently.

IMG_5823

Bracelet  and earrings, £1.05 each (all prices I’m giving here include shipping costs).

IMG_5824

Silver heart necklace £1.57

IMG_5825

IMG_5826

Gorgeous, sparkly earrings, 89p!

IMG_5828

More turquoise earrings, £1.05

IMG_5833

More earrings, from left 76p, 89p, 61p.

All the above have been very successful purchases, however, I’ve found gold toned jewellery not to be great – far too yellow and cheap-looking for my tastes:

IMG_5834

Only £1.32, but this one’ll be going straight to the charity shop, I’m afraid.

If designer knock-offs are your thing, there’s plenty of those, too …

IMG_5835

LV scarf, about a fiver, and Ka.te Sp.ade purse £8.20.

I’ve bought a few handbags, of varying quality dependent on price, some better than others.  I have to say, though, that this pale pink bag I bought last month is absolutely amazing quality for the price, right down to the lining and the workmanship.

IMG_5836

I paid £22.53, and it arrived within five days of ordering.  I’m toying with the idea of ordering a black one, too!

Honestly, the hours I’ve wasted browsing – I wouldn’t like to add them up!  Have you bought anything from Ali Express?  I’m off to look at fake flower wreaths now.  Have a great week, everyone!

12 thoughts on “Shopping In China: Ali Express Haul

  1. I’ve somehow made my way onto it a few times but always been a bit hesitant with ordering anything! I have to say these are major impressive bargains Caroline – that bag is gorgeous!!!! Can’t get over the price of the earrings… might have to have another look now you mention it lol X

  2. I have not heard of it but have had earrings from China for £1 and thought they would be crap when they came but I was so surprised, loved the peices you had and the bag is amazing! I will have a look on Ali Express now though x

  3. I’d never even heard of Ali Express Caroline. Love the turquoise jewellery and the 89p earrings are just gorgeous….do you think they’ll make your ears go green though?

  4. The earrings are so pretty, what great buys they are, love the turquoise ones and the silver wire ball ones.
    The pink handbag is such a soft shade, looks really stylish.
    Lisa x

  5. ohh thanks for the tip. We have a ten pound limit for our christmas present. We draw a name from the hat (there are too many of us) and you buy for that one person. We drew the name on Boxing day after the dip at Meadfoot. I have a lady this year. In case she reads your blog I am not using her name. lol

    Excellent tip thanks .

Leave a Reply

