Frock It! At the BAFTAs

I was up early this morning and looking forward to perusing the fashion at last night’s BAFTAs ceremony.  As usual the celebs didn’t disappoint me, and there was some style I loved, and some true fashion faux pas!

I must say that I thought the older generation put the younger celebs to shame as far as style and elegance went.

Angela Rippon (it’s a long time since I’ve seen her – is she even on the telly any more?!) wore this plum velvet dress …

288850CA00000578-3075782-TV_s_big_night_out_Angela_Rippon_looked_elegant_in_plum_velvet_A-m-155_1431294722835

Perhaps a little heavy for the time of year but, speaking as somebody who has recently put the central heating back on after gritting my teeth without it for several weeks, I can hardly blame her.

I thought Mary Berry looked lovely in this raspberry satin dress – such a flattering sleeve length for ladies of a certain age …

2888A29E00000578-3075729-image-a-128_1431307991518

I really like her necklace, as well.

Poor Michelle Keegan picked such a pretty colour (the dress is apparently from House of Fraser) …


michelle

… but (quite apart from the fact it was about a foot too long for her), look at the state of it, poor girl – so creased.

There’s always a WTF fashion moment at these events, and Sophie Ellis Bextor provided it last night …

288B28A500000578-3075729-image-a-15_1431328910354

Nothing wrong with her dress, but WHAT IS THAT THING ON HER HEAD????!!!!  Horrible tattoo as well, love.  Just saying.

2888701100000578-3075918-image-m-48_1431283838735

Fabulous actress Sheridan Smith (did anybody see her in The C Word last weekend?) wore a fairly nondescript black dress, but I must admit to doing a double take at her very dark hair.  I think she looks so much prettier blonde – the dark hair is a bit too severe for her complexion, I think.

28887F0500000578-3075782-What_an_honour_Channel_4_news_star_Jon_Snow_who_will_be_awarded_-a-240_1431300251456

I think this was my favourite dress of the night – worn by Jon Snow’s wife, Precious.  I love the unusual style of the top half, and it’s elegant and not too revealing.  Red isn’t one of my favourite colours, but it really suits her.

2888D3FC00000578-3075782-TV_talent_Sarah_Jane_Crawford_Mary_Berry_Gabby_Roslin_and_Jenni_-m-118_1431294029086

Another lady in red was Jenni Falconer – another simple but elegant dress.

Now for my most disliked dress of the night …

2888670F00000578-3075729-Hollyoaks_actress_Jennifer_Metcalfe_might_have_been_trying_to_em-a-1_1431328191749

And it has to be this one, worn by Jennifer Metcalfe.  I just don’t get it at all.  Very odd.

A close runner up for my most-disliked-dress award is Rochelle Humes …

28884B6200000578-3075782-image-a-21_1431288407173

Horrid, horrid, horrid.

288BA8AD00000578-3076407-image-a-60_1431333496200

Nikki Sanderson, who has worn some frocky horrors to various awards events over the years, chose well this time – I think this yellow dress is gorgeous.

And finally, although I’m not a big fan of the jumpsuit, I thought Emma Willis looked great in the one she chose …

288A4CED00000578-3075782-Monochrome_beauty_The_Voice_presenter_Emma_Willis_shunned_a_dres-m-241_1431300302678

So, what do you think?  Did you have any other favourites that I have shown?  Or have I missed any that you hated?  Do let me know.

23 thoughts on “Frock It! At the BAFTAs

  1. Angela Rippon is forever on BBC and drives me mad but dress is lovely. I would nominate Alex Jones of One Show fame. Same type of neckline but n red. Very flattering. You are right about Jennifer Metcalfe. Think sh got the bottom stuck in the taxi on the au to the BAFTAS and didn’t have an emergency sewing kit with her!

    Oh and the lovely actress who plays Kalinda on the Good Wife looked gorgeous too in her black number.

    Did anyone notice how so many women had difficulty actually along on the stage due to the size of their heels.

    • Agree about Kalinda’s dress – very nice. I always like her red carpet choices. I liked the style of Alex Jones’ dress but thought it sat a little bit low, I wanted to give it a big hoik up! Didn’t watch the ceremony, but am not surprised about the heels!

      • Angela Rippon is forever on BBC and drives me mad but dress is lovely. I would nominate Alex Jones of One Show fame. Same type of neckline but n red. Very flattering. You are right about Jennifer Metcalfe. Think sh got the bottom stuck in the taxi on the au to the BAFTAS and didn’t have an emergency sewing kit with her!

        Oh and the lovely actress who plays Kalinda on the Good Wife looked gorgeous too in her black number.

        Did anyone notice how so many women had difficulty actually along on the stage due to the size of their heels.

  2. Firstly,Frock it, glad to see it back. Poor Michelle Keegan,what a state that dress was in,it was not flattering at all and it looked as though she had slept in it, I bet she was mortified to see the press comments. I agree with those rather strange lace numbers, Donna Air had a pink light up dress which was dreadful and Anna friel had a white lace dress with some strange giant white button on the back, I did not like it at all,what the heck was that all about with Sophie Ellis Bextor? I will have to Google that! Sherridan’s dress made her look quite dumpy as she is quite petite,a wonderful actress.The” fashion police” had a field day, Great Frock it x Dawn

  3. Hooray for Frock It being back!! I agree about Angela Rippon’s dress – it is lovely. I think perhaps a three quarter length sleeve would have looked good on it too. I also agree about the horror of Jennifer Metcalfe’s dress – perhaps she was wearing it as a dare… I didn’t see all the stars arriving, just saw them presenting/receiving awards, and one dress I really didn’t like was Gemma Jones’s – it didn’t seem to fit the occasion somehow.

    • I agree, Elaine – I thought Gemma Jones’ choice was a very strange one for the occasion. Everyone seems to agree about JM’s frocky horror, too!

  4. I don’t even know who half these people are but I did see Mary Berry’s dress and thought she looked lovely for her age. The poor girl in the House of Fraser dress – did she go in when there was a power cut of were all the mirrors cracked? Doesn’t fit, creased so badly…. not sure there was that much great about it. And the Metcalfe dress – I assumed someone had accidentally stepped on the hem ripping the lace from the body of the skirt and she was just laughing it off. What do I know? It’s 8.10am and I am still in a grey nightie!!

  5. I haven’t seen any other dresses, but if any of them were like JM one then I don’t think I#ve missed too much! What a horrid thing that was.
    Lisa x

  6. I agree with you Caroline,the simple plain dresses look very elegant compared to some of the others.I didn’t even recognise Sheridan Smith with dark hair,i think she looks better blonde. Emma Willis looks very smart in.an alternative to a dress ,and Jon Snows wife looks lovely ,very unusual detail on shoulder/arm .JM ‘s choice of outfit (im not going to call it a dress ) reminded me of Madonna’s crazy oufit you featured last time ,just attention seeking .!

    • Hi Pat – thanks for visiting and taking the time to comment. Glad you enjoyed the fashions – these posts are always popular ones when I do them 🙂

  7. love your “frock it” posts…. thought the whole House of fraser sponsorship took the fashion down and for the baftas I wanted couture… TV soap awards can have HOF! Bafta deserves a little bit more luxury, hence the creasing on Michelle keegans dress… I thought Gemma Jones kaftan was a bit too Denis Russos!… I really like Brook Vincents
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-3075782/Rochelle-Humes-leaves-little-imagination-sheer-lace-dress-Brooke-Vincent-keeps-chic-asymmetric-black-gown-lead-fashion-TV-BAFTA-Awards.html
    fab post thanks for bringing back frock it Tx

    • I thought the bottom half of Brook’s was very nice, but I didn’t like the top bit, particularly the shoulders, the shape reminded me a bit of armour! x

Leave a Reply

