Journal Jar Q80: Do You Have A Hobby?

Yes – blogging!

That’s the short (and rather boring) answer. I would love to have said something like wing-walking, or base jumping, or abseiling, but no, I’m afraid it’s just blogging.

Like many people, I guess, I would love to have more hours in the day to spend pursuing the things I enjoy, but I guess that will have to wait until retirement. Or until I win the lottery, of course!

These are some of the other things I like which I guess could come under the category of hobbies.

  • Reading – I read an average of two books a week and my Amazon wishlist currently numbers 11 pages (recently reduced from 17 …!). It often makes me sad that I will never have time to read all the books that I’d like to.
  • You Tube – since starting my own YT channel, I’ve started watching many others, and it’s almost taken over from TV viewing for me. It’s a form of reality TV, I guess.
  • Crochet – I went on a course at a local wool shop to learn crochet a couple of years ago, and I’ve continued ever since. I can now read a pattern confidently and I’ve made all sorts of things, both practical and decorative. Click ‘crochet’ from the drop down ‘categories’ menu on the right side bar to see some of the things I’ve made.
  • Photography – I’ve been on a couple of courses, and it’s something I dip in and out of, but I do love taking pictures.

Have you got any unusual hobbies? I’d love to hear about them.

19 thoughts on “Journal Jar Q80: Do You Have A Hobby?

  1. I love YouTube and watch a variety of topical v logs and videos. I used to make.cards but one day decided to.pack away my crafty stash buy hope one day to get my crafty mojo back. Dawn X

  2. I spend a lot of time reading blogs too and lately not so much time writing my own. I seem to have been blogging for a long time and saying a lot of the same things. . You obviously devote a lot of time and energy to your posts and it shows, I really enjoy them.

  3. I used to love blogging then suddenly lost my blogging mojo and packed it all in – still miss it sometimes, but love reading other people’s blogs. My only hobby these days – apart from reading and searching out second-hand bargains – is Tai Chi, specifically Taoist Tai Chi. We both used to do it when we lived in Essex and I’m incredibly lucky that there is a local class only a five minute bus ride away. Tai Chi on a Wednesday evening is often the highlight of my week these days. I can highly recommend it as a tonic for both the body and soul.

    • That sounds interesting – I remember seeing big groups of people in parks in China doing Tai Chi, and I had a friend years ago who loved it, but it’s not something I’ve ever thought about. Perhaps I’ll look into it – it sounds good.

Leave a Reply

