Five Fabulous Books For Spring 2015

I am, as regular readers will know, an avid reader.

I’m in the process of starting a book club with with some ladies I’ve met online via the Streetlife website, which connects people with others in their locality.  Our inaugural meeting is at my house later on this month, and as none of us have met before, it will be quite interesting to see how we all gel!  I love meeting new people, so I’m really looking forward to it.

I know that some of my readers are members of book clubs, and I wonder if anybody has any recommendations for good book club reads?  If so, please do leave them in the comments.

On a similar note, I thought I’d share with you some of my favourite books of the year so far …

Unknown

The Blurb

In a split second, Jenna Gray’s world descends into a nightmare. Her only hope of moving on is to walk away from everything she knows to start afresh. Desperate to escape, Jenna moves to a remote cottage on the Welsh coast, but she is haunted by her fears, her grief and her memories of a cruel November night that changed her life forever.

Slowly, Jenna begins to glimpse the potential for happiness in her future. But her past is about to catch up with her, and the consequences will be devastating . . .

My Thoughts

This book hooked me from the very first page, in which a terrible accident occurs.  The story is told from two (and later on three) different points of view, and there is a twist in the middle that literally made me gasp out loud.   I tweeted a five star review when I finished it, and the author sent me a Twitter message to say thank you, which I thought was really nice.

7483a770f6d24f80a102039ff4c314a3

This book had been languishing unread on my Kindle for ages, but I saw a couple of people mention it online and say how good it was, so I started reading, and ended up loving it.

It’s set in America during the time of slavery and is the story of Lisbeth, a young privileged white girl, and Mattie, her black slave nanny.  It traces their story through 30-odd years and is moving, thought-provoking and well-written.  If you liked ‘The Help’, you’ll like this one.

04b14b3e289e5f9595fe5f792647a42c

The Blurb

An apparently happy marriage. A beautiful son. A lovely home.

Yet one morning Emily Coleman wakes up and walks right out of her life. What makes her do it? How will she survive? And, no matter how hard she tries, can she ever really say goodbye to her past?

Emily has a secret. No-one has ever guessed it. Will you?

My Thoughts

I’ve always been fascinated by what provokes people to just walk out of their lives and go missing, and this book took me by the scruff of the neck from the first page and didn’t let me go until the last.   An absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller, loved it.

83f4ecf8b4aa931c0ffa6840f28d7533

The Blurb

A story of how love can break our hearts – and heal them.

A year ago I met the love of my life. For two people who didn’t believe in love at first sight, we came pretty close.

Lilah MacDonald – beautiful, opinionated, stubborn and all kinds of wonderful in ways that words could never quite capture. The woman who taught me to live again.

My Lilah, who gave me so much, and yet kept from me a secret that she knew would break my heart.

My name is Callum Roberts, and this is our story. 

My Thoughts

I wasn’t expecting to love this book as much as I did, but the characters were so real and well-written, and the story so thought-provoking that it went far beyond the realms of ‘romantic slush’ which I had it pegged as before reading it.  If you like a book which brings a tear to your eye, this one might well be for you.

af36ca7e649dda82c12ad26a8cab50b3

The Blurb

Your best friend isn’t who you think she is.

You’ve been friends since university, when you became the people you are today.

You don’t see each other enough but when you do it’s as if you’ve never been apart.

She’s one of the family. You would trust her with your life, your children, your husband.

And when your daughter is rushed to hospital, you’re grateful that she’s stepping in at home, looking after things.

But your best friend isn’t who you think she is. You’re about to find out just how wrong you were.

My Thoughts

Another book that had me turning the pages and kept my up way too late into the evening.  A great storyline and fast-paced action (which did have me needing to suspend disbelief on a couple of occasions, I must admit).  I’ve already bought the author’s previous novel, which I’m looking forward to reading soon.

18 thoughts on “Five Fabulous Books For Spring 2015

  1. What a great selection of books you’ve read recently.
    My mind has gone completely blank about our good reads.
    Will have a think and get back to you.
    Lisa x

  2. I must check for those at the library though I doubt I will be allowed to take them to Italy for the summer. They all sound like books to get lost in on a sunny afternoon. Thanks for the reviews and the day dream on a cold wet day.

    • Fingers crossed the weather improves soon, Jenny – I went out today thinking it was spring because the sun was shining, and it was blooming freezing – I wished I’d worn a coat!

  3. I’m also an avid reader, some book club suggestions-
    A Man Called Ove, by Fredrik Backman
    The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern
    The 100-Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, by Jonas Jonasson
    -found you through the A-Z Challenge sign up list 🙂

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, Laila. I noticed the book has a new cover, but I love the yellow and purple so I used that one (it was also the cover of the version I read, as I bought the book ages ago, and only just got around to reading it. I buy faster than I can read!).

  4. Some of these sound interesting – but I really must get through the pile of books I already have before I succumb to some more! 🙂 My Book Club recently read The List of my Desires by Gregoire Delacourt, and we all enjoyed it. It isn’t a long read, and provided lots of talking points.

  5. Along with a few friends we recently started a book club too, we love it and it’s re-ignited my passion for reading. This month we read http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Girl-Train-Paula-Hawkins/dp/0857522310 which I loved. Other books we’ve enjoyed were http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rosie-Project-Don-Tillman-ebook/dp/B00B2FLDRQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1427962732&sr=1-1&keywords=the+rosie+project
    and http://www.amazon.co.uk/Room-Picador-Classic-Emma-Donoghue-ebook/dp/B003X27L9U/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1427962760&sr=1-1&keywords=room
    I look forward to seeing how you get on-I set up a Facebook page for us where we can talk book related stuff and a good way to keep in touch with your club. Happy reading!

    • Hi Gill – thanks so much for the recommendations. I read Girl on a Train recently and thought it was great. The Rosie Project I must admit to not enjoying at all. Room was absolutely brilliant, and you’re right, it would make a good book club read. I’d be happy to read that one again, actually, so maybe I’ll suggest it. I love the Facebook page idea, too – thank you!

      • I listened to The Rosie Project on Audible and I think that’s why I enjoyed it so much, it really brought the story to life. I can see it being made into a film, in fact I did read somewhere that the film rights had been bought. Not sure I would have enjoyed reading it so much.

  6. Exciting times Caroline,meeting new people and discovering new books.I enjoyed
    The Things We Never Said by Susan Elliot Wright.set in the sixties and present day,the two stories reveal the connection between the two .The cover says the past was hers to forget and the future his to uncover.
    i’m reading Return to Mandalay by Roseanna Ley,set in present day and the 1930’s and 1940’s in Burma and Dorset ,this is a real page turner,beautifully written,i really dont want this book to end!
    Good luck with your choices.

  7. Oooh that sounds so good – I am intrigued as to how the book club goes. It is years since I was in one and I sort of miss it but have so much to read on my own…. Some of those titles are not yet published over here. At the library where I volunteer we have ‘book club kits’ which are 8 copies of the book in a bag with suggested reading questions…. and an interesting selection of titles.

Leave a Reply

