January Movies

Time for a quick trip through the films I watched last month.

1.   The Book Thief

movies-the-book-thief-poster

 

I haven’t read the book, so I didn’t really have any preconceptions about the film, or know much about it other than the fact it was set during WW2.  I thought it was just OK, not brilliant but not awful.  Worth watching if you’re interested in WW2 movies, but I wouldn’t make a special point of it.

2.   Sparkle

SPARKLE-BD-239x300

Loved this one.  Set in the 60s, it tells the story of three sisters who form a girl group and their burgeoning fame and how it affects them.  I didn’t realise until I watched it that Whitney Houston played the mother – who knew?  Very evocative of its time – and the fashions are fab!

3.   Wild

11189150_det

My one trip to the cinema during January (I told you I spent the month hibernating!) was to see this adaptation of Cheryl Strayed’s autobiographical book, telling the story of her 1,000 solo hike along the Pacific Crest Trail.  I was quite interested to see this as Reese Witherspoon is nominated for an Oscar this year in the lead role.  I enjoyed it, but I must say it didn’t make me want to read the book, which I get the impression would be a bit too introspective and self-indulgent for my tastes.  Worth a watch if you come across it, though.

4.   The Angel’s Share

angels-share-poster-135x200

I didn’t get off to a great start with this one when I had to put the subtitles on, due to a combination of the inpenetrable Scottish accents and appalling sound quality.  It’s based on a group of youngsters doing community service and their attempts to turn over a new leaf.  I turned it off after about 45 minutes.  ‘Nuff said.

5.   Promised Land

11170615_det

Really enjoyed this environmental drama starring Matt Damon.  Involving storyline and great acting.  My film of the month.

 

Have you seen any good movies lately?

 

12 thoughts on “January Movies

      • Know what you mean… hubby was the same. Could see the interest dwindling on his behalf lol Don’t think it’s something we’ll watch again any time soon but glad I seen it. Oddly enough it kept me more entertained than August: Osage County… which is normally my type of thing. Now that was a film that had me yawning – so disappointed with it 😦 Will be giving The Hunger Games a go this weekend x

  1. So I read the Book Thief and didn’t think it as wow as many did so I passed when it came to the cinema. I saw ‘Wild’ too and liked it but didn’t love it. This weekend I saw ‘Still Alice’ = preferred the book by far. Also saw ‘American Sniper’ and it was very good. Hard to watch and too American for many I dare say but quite brilliant. Also saw ‘The Imitation Game’ which was quite amazing. I have been on a run of going to the movies after my lull last year (Have also seen ‘Paddington’, ‘Annie’ and ‘Into the Woods’ with the kids). Am watching Series 6 of Greys Anatomy on Netflix too.

    • Can’t decide whether to watch Still Alice or not, as I loved the book so much – I just feel that however good it is, it still won’t be as good as the book for me. It’s not out here yet, I don’t think. Missed the Imitation Game, annoyingly.

  2. The Book Thief was a really wonderful read and so I have avoided the film as I had read it was a let down after the book. No films here, about from The Bishops Wife I had taped over Christmas. I’ve been catching up with stuff I recorded over the festivities.

Leave a Reply

