Recipe: Coconut Curried Veggie Noodles

Photo 07-01-2015 19 11 28

Just like the majority of the population at this time of year, I imagine, we are trying to eat a little more healthily, particularly during the week, and I was quite surprised that this somewhat thrown together concoction went down as well as it did with my fussy son and husband.

It also ticks a lot of my boxes as far as mid-week cooking is concerned: one-pot, quick to prepare and to cook, healthy(ish), meat-free, and fairly cheap.

Here’s how it’s done.

Ingredients

Photo 07-01-2015 17 46 03

  • ginger, small chunk, chopped
  • medium curry powder or paste, to taste
  • half fat coconut milk, I used about 200ml
  • vegetable stock, I used about 200 ml
  • Noodles, straight to wok ones are my personal preference
  • Veggies – whatever you like – I used baby corn, sugar snap peas, red pepper, green pepper, and a stray mushroom I found at the bottom of the veg box.  I reckon bean sprouts would be a good addition, too, but the teenager has taken against them, so we tend to leave them out in this house.

Method

Photo 07-01-2015 18 44 02

 

  • Chop the veggies.
  • Cook the chopped ginger gently in a little oil, then stir in the curry powder or paste and cook until fragrant.
  • Stir in coconut milk and veg stock (you can adjust the quantities of these to make it more or less calorific as you choose).
  • Bring to boil and simmer for a minute, then add the veg and simmer for a few minutes.
  • Stir in the noodles (if you’re using dried ones, you’ll need to pre-cook them according to pack instructions), heat through, and serve.

Like I said, super quick.  We’re having it again tonight!

6 thoughts on “Recipe: Coconut Curried Veggie Noodles

  1. Mmmmm that looks really good,I love coconut milk,I have to try this, I am trying to cut down on eating meat with almost every meal. Thanks for sharing. I love to see what everyone is cooking. X Dawn

  2. Looks delicious Caroline, will have to try this one. Btw the second batch of onion marmalade was OK but I reduced the liquid and cooked it for longer…still had to reduce the liquid in a saucepan but it was OK. Sorry, thought I had previously left a comment to let you know. xx

  3. Looks so good, and sounds so easy! Will try it this week, as I can’t seem to get enough Asian fare lately. Had a fabulous salad at PF Chang’s yesterday…today I have Cashew Chicken in the slow cooker.

Leave a Reply

