The Getting To Know Me Tag

Victoria over at Florence & Mary did this tag a while back, and I thought the questions were quite fun and decided I’d have a go too.

 

  1.  Are you named after anyone?

Yes and no. My first name, Caroline, was picked just because my Mum had always liked it, but my middle name, Mary (which I hate) was picked because it’s my Mum’s middle name, too.

 

  1. When was the last time you cried?

Christmas Day – see this post!

 

  1. Do you have any kids?

Yes, one stroppy teenager, William, who will be 15 next month. Cliché it may be, but I REALLY don’t know where the last 15 years have gone.

 

  1. If you were another person, would you be a friend of yourself?

Does anybody actually answer no to this question??!!!

 

  1. Do you use sarcasm a lot?

Mmm, far too much. And irony. Two of my favourite forms of humour, in fact.

 

  1. Will you ever bungee-jump?

Well, never say never, but it’s not something that I have a burning desire to do, so if I had to put money on it, I’d probably plump for no.

 

  1. What is your favourite cereal?

I’m not a fan of cereal at all. Yuck.

 

  1. What is the first thing you notice about people?

When Victoria answered this question, she said ‘their shoes’, and I have to agree with that! Also their voice, as the way somebody speaks can tell you volumes about them, I think.

 

  1. What is your eye colour?

Bluey greeny grey.

 

  1. Scary movie or happy endings?

I’m all for a happy ending, but not if it’s too twee or inappropriate to the story that’s gone before. But I quite like a good scary movie, too. I remember watching Candyman when I was Night Manager on board ship, and being absolutely terrified out of my wits when I was wandering around the empty ship by myself because everybody else was asleep!

 

  1. Favourite Smells?

New carpets. Jo Malone Orange Blossom. And anything that reminds me of holidays.

 

  1. Summer or Winter?

Summer, without a shadow of a doubt or a moment’s hesitation.

 

  1. Computer or television?

Both. But not at the same time.

 

  1. What is the furthest you’ve ever been from home?

I was lucky enough to circumnavigate the globe when I worked on the ships, so I imagine it would be somewhere in the environs of New Zealand.

 

  1. Do you have any special talents?

No, but I get worse hangovers than anybody else I’ve ever met – does that count?

 

  1. Where were you born?

Bournemouth, on the south coast of England.

 

  1. What are your hobbies?

Blogging, vlogging, reading, crochet, and going on as many holidays as humanly possible.

 

  1. Do you have any pets?

Two cats, Ron & Reg, and a recently-returned-from-a-six-month-disappearance tortoise, Freddy.

 

  1. Favourite movie?

Top Gun. What can I say? I was a teenager in the 80s.

 

  1. Do you have any siblings?

One brother, Nick, who’s four years younger than me.

 

  1. What do you want to be when you grow up?

Happy, healthy and rich. (well, the first two sounded terribly worthy, so I opted for a bit of realism in my third choice).

 

13 thoughts on “The Getting To Know Me Tag

    • A good question indeed. When we couldn’t find him, we figured he’d dug under the fence into the woods behind our garden, and Ashley and William spent ages and ages looking for him, but couldn’t find him, so we just assumed he was lost. Ashley happened to glance out of the window at the weekend, and there he was walking across the courtyard! We did ask him, but he didn’t say where he’d been!

  1. 1. Mary’s a bloody marvellous middle name… all the best people have it as theirs!

    2. I’ll see you one bad hangover and raise you mine!! I went out Boxing Day, arrived home at 8am Saturday morning and lost the whole day not waking properly till Sunday!!

    Victoria x
    FlorenceandMary.com

  2. And I thought I was the only person on the planet who didn’t like cereals. Interesting answers, Caroline, and yup, summer all the way for me too. Happy New Year to you and I loved the glimpse of Reg in your vlog the other day – he looks quite a lot like my Mum’s cat, Lily, though she is tortoiseshell and white rather than black and white.

  3. Laughing out loud literally at the tortoise story and comments relating to him ,happy ending bet your faces were a picture when you saw him walking across the courtyard ?!
    One question i would like to ask you Caroline, if you didn’t live in England what country would you choose ?

Leave a Reply

