Christmas? Not For Me, Thanks.

Never let it be said I don’t keep things real on this blog.

Thank heavens that’s all over for another year.  Christmas Day was the worst I’ve ever had.

I’m not the world’s biggest fan of Christmas anyway – I hate the way that these days it seems to start at the beginning of November and drag on for two months.  There is a constant assault from TV, magazines, shops, newspapers, adverts, EVERYWHERE in fact, which makes us feel as though everything has to be perfect, and that’s it’s a huge, massive deal.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – given the choice, I would jet off to the sunshine and spend December 25 lying on a beach with a cocktail in one hand and a good book in the other, blissfully oblivious to the whole thing.  Unfortunately, however, my family don’t feel the same way, so each year I put on my game face, buy the presents, brave the supermarket crowds, put up my decorations and get on with it, breathing a big sigh of relief when it’s all over.

I got up early on Christmas Day, made everybody a cup of tea and took it to them in bed and went back to the kitchen to tackle some bits of washing up from the night before.  One of which was a roasting tin which Ashley had cooked a joint of beef in the previous evening.

I had just finished the washing up when Ashley arrived in the kitchen and literally exploded because I had washed the roasting tin up – apparently he’d been planning to reuse the beef fat that was in the bottom of it.  I’m not sure exactly how I was supposed to know that, as he hadn’t bothered to share that piece of information with me, but apparently I was.

Well, he went ballistic.  He ranted and raved, reduced me to tears (all by 8am on Christmas morning), and spent the whole rest of the day – I kid you not – in a foul mood, making nasty remarks all day.  By 8pm, I was ready to walk out of the house and never come back.

He did eventually apologise before we went to bed, but by then Christmas Day had been ruined for me.  It was awful.

Days later, we discussed it again.  He was still angry about the beef fat, completely out of proportion to the point of utter weirdness.  I pointed out to him that he’d been more cheerful on the Christmas five (six?) years ago that his father was in hospital a week away from dying of cancer, than he had been this year when I’d inadvertently chucked some beef fat down the sink.  I really hope that got through to him.  Arse.

So yeah, that was my Christmas Day.  Do hope yours was better.

35 thoughts on “Christmas? Not For Me, Thanks.

  1. I’m so sorry to hear that happened. Can leave an emotional hangover for days too. I, too, hate Christmas but manage to arrange it so I am on my own which is blissful. I hope the two of you can look back and laugh about the incident soon but a horrid day for you.

    • Hi Jo – you’re right about the emotional hangover, things are still not quite right. Oh well, only to be expected after 18 years of marriage, I guess. The ups wouldn’t be so good without the downs!

  2. Yes, far too much pressure these days to provide the perfect Christmas and begin arranging it in August. We didn’t have such a bad time this year but in the past we too have had massive rows that we are reminded of as Christmas comes around again. If your family love Christmas day so much maybe its up to them to provide it next year, meantime you take it easy and try to move on.

    • I think you’ve hit the nail on the head, Jenny – far too much pressure is the problem. To be fair, we alternate hosting Christmas with my parents, which is nice for everybody concerned as nobody is put upon year in year out. But I’d still like to run away to the sunshine instead!! Happy New Year to you and yours x

  3. Oh no so sorry to hear that! I can somewhat sympathsise to Ashley’s rantings in that my dad can fly off the handle at the smallest thing! Thankfully we were excused any of that this year and had a nice day. I hope you aim to add mind reading to your things to do in 2015!

    Lot’s of love and hugs to you… go pour a nice big glass of wine!

    Victoria xxx

  4. OMG I think that is all completely out of order. I would be so angry and hurt. Totally unacceptable. And who cooked the dinner? I suggest a trip to Oz next year. All over for us back to Spain tomorrow at an unearthly hour.

  5. Ive given up on Christmas. We had our final hoorah Christmas will all the family last year. Good thing too as I have been really ill this Christmas still have the cough and I cant speak at the mo, else I explode into a coughing fit.

    Even the telly was complete crap.I think I watched Pollyanna and then back to the future. even the tv has been hit by the recession.

    Why don’t you see if everyone would like to go away Christmas 2015? I would like to

  6. Sorry to hear about your Christmas – I think Karen is right, start your holiday planning for next year. I’ve always toyed with the idea of going away at Christmas – could never get my family on board but now that we are all adults, it’s something to consider. Happy New Year!

    • Realistically, I think it will be a few more years before I can put my beach/cocktail/book plans into place over Christmas, but one day, for sure! Happy New Year, Pamela!

  7. There is always huge expectations for perfect Christmas – you are right… everything in the shops – getting the perfect pressie, the table laid the right way…..
    Still not right he exploded like that – especially when it was a dimple mistake. Your reminder of years past has to make him think of how crazy his sulk was this year….
    anyway – did you get any books? xxx

  8. Sorry to hear that. Make a new rule that anything that is to be kept shall be covered with a sheet of foil. It isn’t fair to assume someone can predict one’s plans.

    I didn’t even put up a single decoration this year. Too much chaos house wide. Damn I’ll be glad when the kitchen reno is done!

  9. Oh dear,that is awful,John wants to jet away every year and I call him scrooge but I secretly would love to do that, I have my parents here for Christmas day (my Sister is too selfish to do it) my Dad says he doesn’t want to be a burden and they aren’t at all, I couldn’t go away knowing my parents are on their own. My kids have their own lives,families and friends and I know they wouldn’t mind us going but for now we will stay at home. I love Christmas but as the kids get older it isn’t the same. I hope you have a good year and Ashley has a good Birthday,sorry your Christmas Day was awful x I hope Ashley is very very sorry !

  10. Sorry you had a rubbish Christmas day – such a hefty amount of festive stuff to sort out without adding flipping mind-reading to the list! What was he going to do with the beef fat anyway? Surely nothing worth all that upset. Hope he’s eating a little humble pie now??
    Happy New Year! x

  11. I’m really sorry to hear that your far from favourite day of the year was made even less so by such an incident. And for it to have rumbled over into other days too just isn’t nice.
    I hope things are calmer and happier now.
    Wishing you a very happy new year, go and look at some holiday brochures!
    Lisa x

  12. Sorry to hear you had a shit xmas day Caroline, his reaction seems extremely disproportionate.
    Hopefully you are feeling better now you’ve got it off your chest ….and I take it he is unaware of your blog post? tee hee. Did you buy him some beef dripping for his 50th?

    • Didn’t think of that, that would’ve been very amusing! He doesn’t read my blog, but I certainly wouldn’t hide the fact I’d written about it. I learnt the hard way a few years ago not to write anything you aren’t happy to stand by in the event someone you weren’t expecting to read it, does! Happy New Year to you and yours, Fiona x

  13. Good grief! How were you supposed to know? But how typical that a silly argument over what is essentially nothing should happen and on Christmas Day… it is a very stressful day for many people as well as a happy time. Hope it’s all right now.

Leave a Reply

