October Movies

How on earth are we already a whole WEEK into November?  It’s just beyond me.  And I haven’t even THOUGHT about Christmas yet.  That’s on my list for next week.  Anyway.  I watched some great movies last month – here’s a rundown of what I saw.

 

1.   Dallas Buyer’s Club

 

Dallas-Buyers-Club-Feature

 

IMDB Summary:  In 1985 Dallas, electrician and hustler Ron Woodroof works around the system to help AIDS patients get the medication they need after he is himself diagnosed with the disease.

Although this film won 3 Oscars and a whole host of other awards, and I was aware of the name and the fact that Matthew McConaughey played the lead, I didn’t really have much idea of what it was about before I watched it, or that it’s based on a true story.  I was absolutely hooked from the first scene right up until the last, and I thought the acting was amazing and the film was very evocative of its time.  Highly recommended.

2.   Philomena

MV5BMjA5ODgyNzcxMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMzkzOTYzMDE@._V1_SX214_AL_

IMDB Summary: A world-weary political journalist picks up the story of a woman’s search for her son, who was taken away from her decades ago after she became pregnant and was forced to live in a convent.

I read the book earlier this year and found it interesting, but a bit over-detailed on the American politics/law side.  The film, I’m happy to say, glossed over the more tedious parts of the book, concentrating instead on the character of Philomena, and I enjoyed it more than I anticipated.  Judi Dench was brilliant in the eponymous lead role, and played the character just as I’d imagined her from reading the book.  Food for thought on the awful Irish Catholic adoption system, though – and difficult to believe such awful things happened to people only 50 years ago.

3 & 4.  National Velvet & International Velvet

MV5BMTgxMTgzNjc0MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODkxMzMyMQ@@._V1_SY317_CR2,0,214,317_AL_62b5e949939725c6d28a0b956861dace

Two films I remember loving as a horse-mad young girl, I watched these back to back one wet Sunday afternoon, and thoroughly enjoyed my trip back down memory lane.

5.   The Life of David Gale

MV5BMTAxMzU0NTgxNzZeQTJeQWpwZ15BbWU2MDQzNDkxNw@@._V1_SX214_AL_

IMDB Summary: A man against capital punishment is accused of murdering a fellow activist and is sent to death row.

Another film I was utterly capitivated by.  I don’t quite know whether to call it a drama, a thriller, or a crime film – a mixture of all three, I guess.  And I just loved all the twists and turns, particularly the very end – brilliant.  I could quite happily sit down and watch this again right now.  Film of the month for me.

 

Have you seen any good films lately?

3 thoughts on “October Movies

  1. I STILL haven’t seen Dallas Buyers’ Club and so want to. I have seen ‘The life of David Gale’ and loved it and thought it was one of the most under rated films ever. On the plane over I finally watched ‘Fault in the (our?) stars’ which was quite long (unexpected), sad (expected) and not exactly what I had expected….. My few days here are flying. Just thought I’ll be cooking Thanksgiving Turkey before I know it!!!

Leave a Reply

