50 Before 50: My New Project

On my 46th birthday in August 2014, I decided to make a list of 50 things I wanted to do before I was 50.

This is it.

I’ve done an introduction and a brief run through of the list in video form, but if you’d rather just read the list, scroll down this post, and you’ll find it.

I didn’t realize until I started editing this video that I’d been inadvertently advertising my husband’s estate agency on the back of my notes – my apologies, as it’s rather distracting.

HEALTH & FITNESS

1.   Do a clean / detox.

2.   Have a mammogram.

3.   Get my cholesterol checked.

4.   Run 5k.

5.   Go to a pilates class.

6.   Try meditation.

 

FRIENDS AND FAMILY

7.   Visit my friend R

8.   Once a year trip with my mum.

9.   Host a murder mystery evening.

10.   Continue birthday days out with my best friend each August.

 

JUST FOR FUN

11.   Create a signature cocktail.

12.    Plan my 50th party!

13.   Make vodka gummy bears.

14.   See three musicals or plays at the theatre.

15.   Watch every movie that’s won the Best Picture Academy Award.

16.   Go to the cinema 50 times.

17.   Try 100 different cheeses.

18.   Eat at 12 new restaurants.

19.   Go out for afternoon tea.

20.   Try 20 different types of tequila.

21.   Open a bottle of fizz with a sword.

22.   Send flowers to somebody when it isn’t a special occasion.

 

A BIT SCARY

23.  Walk over hot coals.

24.   Go snorkelling again.

25.   Hot air balloon ride.

 

TRAVEL & EXPERIENCES

26.   Visit 20 towns/cities that I haven’t been to before.

27.   Visit Oxford or Cambridge.

28.  Go to a country I’ve never been to before.

29.   Go to London by myself.

30.   Visit 20 local attractions.

31.  See a live sporting event.

32.   Go to the top of the tallest building in the world.

 

HOME

33.  Build & decorate our cinema room

34.   Decorate lounge.

35.   Kitchen refurb.

36.   Decorate and refurb my bedroom and ensuite.

 

PROJECTS

37.   Finish my Happy Book

38.   Finish my Journal Jar Questions

39.   Take a photo of our view every month for a year.

40.   Listen to all the music I own and get rid of what I don’t like any more.

41.   Keep a ‘my day in six words’ journal for two months.

42.   Complete three months of the Photo A Day challenge.

43.   Cook a recipe from a different country every month for a year.

44.  Crochet an African Flower Blanket.

45.   Crochet As You Go Stripy Blanket

46.  Crochet Ripple Blanket.

 

LEARNING

47.   Do a blogging/photography e-course.

48.   Take an emergency first aid course.

 

GIVING

49.   Give 25 Kiva loans

50.   Give blood.

51.   Donate to 50 charities.

 

Yes, I know there are 51 – clearly, I can’t count!

 

Other links mentioned:

Journal Jar

https://mrsmsmeanderings.wordpress.com/2009/12/30/journal-jar-and-an-idea/

Happy Book
https://mrsmsmeanderings.wordpress.com/2008/11/18/a-trip-out/

Kiva – Loans that change Lives
http://www.kiva.org/

If you want to see how I’m getting on, I’ll be keeping the list updated in the ’50 Before 50′ tab on the top menu of my blog.

13 thoughts on “50 Before 50: My New Project

  1. A brilliant list, I think I need to make one too, it’s a really good idea. I hope you have fun achieving it all. It’s been lovely to discover your blog. CJ xx

  2. I love your V-logs and this one was really interesting, I would never snorkel ever, my fear of open water would not allow me to do this,try 100 cheeses and make vodka Gummy bears , now those I could do ! I have been for 2 proper Afternoon tea’s and they were both in a lovely setting with lovely china and I enjoyed them very much.I can’t give blood because I suffer from Anaemia but my friend and her Daughter do and they said it is no worse than having a blood test, I think that is an admirable thing to do as is donating to 50 charities.
    I really enjoyed this V-log x Dawn

  3. What a great list! I’m about to turn 50 any day now (we’ve already started the celebrations this weekend!) so I think I’m going to follow your example and make a list to tick of before I turn 51 🙂
    Have a happy week and thanks for stopping in at my blog to say hello too,
    love Gilly xx

Leave a Reply

