Birthday Lunch

DSC_0402

It was my birthday a couple of weeks ago, and Ashley and I went out for a celebratory lunch to The Elephant in Torquay – a lovely restaurant which, somewhat incongruously considering its location (Torquay is a sad shadow of its former Victorian self these days) has a Michelin star.

I don’t have any pictures of the interior, but the design is fab – a mix of seaside kitsch and colonial glamour.  Which sounds awful but somehow works.  We had a nice table in the window, although it was drizzling and misty outside – well, it was August in the UK, what did I expect?!

Photo 29-08-2014 13 20 47

 

We had the set menu, which was good value at £16.95 for three courses, accompanied by a nice bottle of white wine.  There were two choices for each course.

Photo 29-08-2014 13 41 04

 

To start, Ashley had mussels with crusty bread, which were delicious and plentiful, with a very flavoursome cream sauce.

Photo 29-08-2014 13 41 08

 

I opted for the goats cheese salad with green onion oil, which was tasty, but rather lacking in goats cheese (it was underneath the salad, rather oddly, but there wasn’t very much of it!).

Photo 29-08-2014 14 07 00

 

For main course we both chose the hake, which was easily the nicest fish dish I’ve eaten this year, accompanied by a side order of green beans in pesto.   As an aside, this dish prompted me to purchase some samphire later than day when I happened to see it in Tesco, as I’d enjoyed it so much on the hake, but when I cooked it, it was inedible as it was so salty.  Anybody cooked samphire – any tips?

Photo 29-08-2014 14 43 19

 

For pudding, Ashley chose this chocolate tart, which looked and tasted a lot better than my crap photograph would have you believe!

Photo 29-08-2014 14 43 26

I’m not a big pudding person, so I went for my usual choice when eating out: cheese and biscuits.

All washed down with a very nice bottle of Pouilly Fume.  Quite delicious.

Photo 29-08-2014 15 00 36And as a final quirky touch, the bill comes with a stick of seaside rock.

Going out for lunch with Ashley on a weekday felt really decadent, and was a really nice birthday treat.  Unfortunately, the ensuing walk around the harbour and the shops gave me hideous blisters as I’d worn a thoroughly unsuitable pair of shoes – car to bar shoes, as my friend calls them!

 

10 thoughts on “Birthday Lunch

  1. The food looked good, I feel so sad about Torquay, we have been visiting for over 20 years and have seen it go from a thriving seaside town to a drab,depressing site, the harbour itself is nice but the town is so depressing, what a shame.
    x Dawn

  2. Well I would say that was excellent value. Though I didn’t think cod was from Brixham. I thought it was an Atlantic fish not local. As for samphire this looks like thin asparagus and the chocolate cake looks really yum. Makes me hungry, off to get my cheese sandwich!

  3. I am not sure I have ever been to Torquay. It is a good deal the lunch menu, Hubby and I do quite a few lunch time ‘dates’ and it is an interesting crowd when you go to nice places to eat….
    I have never heard the term ‘ car to bar ‘ for shoes but I like it and may borrow it. I too have blisters from similar this week (except I went grocery shopping and to Home Depot (like B&Q) in them too. Never mind. The outfit was nice…..
    I am now very hungry after that post!

  4. Aside from the fish (which I don’t eat) it all looks rather nice. Sorry to hear about your blisters, I have just managed to get rid of one from a pair of shoes I was testing out for Vegas!!

    Victoria x
    FlorenceandMary.com

  5. All looks divine! What a lovely Birthday treat. Pretty good value too for a Michelin star restaurant – always think a set lunch menu is a great way to check out places like that.
    Just catching up at the mo and sounds like you’ve been a busy bee! Good luck with your Facebook page – still haven’t taken the plunge, but have almost convinced myself that I should… Love a list too, and a good old sort out! x

Leave a Reply

