Random Questions Tag

Jay over at My Family & Other Cricketers had to pose 11 random questions as part of a tag she was doing, and she asked for volunteers to answer them, so I put myself forward.  Here are my answers to Jay’s questions:

1.  What would you do on your ideal day? 

Oh, it would have to be a day on holiday, I think … And I’m thinking probably the Maldives. The weather would be perfect, the relaxation would be total, I would be reading an amazing book, my family would be with me; there would be gourmet food, delicious cocktails and I wouldn’t have to lift a finger. Just perfect.

 2. What did you want to be “when you grew up”? And did you achieve it?

I always rather fancied working at an airport, but ended up on a cruise ship which, in retrospect, was probably a better option. I also quite fancied being a journalist at one time, I seem to recall – ha ha, the frustrated writer in me found an outlet in blogging later in life!

 3. Tattoos and/or piercings; do you have any, do you love/hate them?  

Hate hate hate, with a passion. I have my ears pierced but nothing else, and would never ever ever EVER have a tattoo. Each to his/her own, though, obviously. My 14 year old niece recently had her nose pierced (14? What are her parents thinking?), and made the mistake of asking me whether or not I liked it!!

4.  Where do you see yourself in 10 years time?

If I’m still living in the same place, doing much the same as I’m doing now, and I’m still healthy, I’ll be very happy, thankyouverymuch.

 5. What are you reading right now?

I’m reading a Simon Kernick novel, Siege, which is not holding my attention as much as his thrillers normally do. I’m nearly at the end and looking forward to reading something different next.

 6.  Serious theatre or musicals; or do you not visit the theatre?

Both. But more musicals, if I’m honest. I’d love to go to the theatre more, but it’s such a lot of money these days, it always seems a fortune to spend on one evening’s entertainment.

 7.  Do you have a secret crush? (famous person or otherwise!)

I don’t think I do.

 8) Who knows about your blog, or is it secret?

Not at all a secret. All my immediate family know about it, but my husband and son never read, my Mum does, my Dad doesn’t unless my Mum makes him read a particular post(!), and my brother and his wife dip in and out, I think.  A few ‘real life’ friends found my blog through my Twitter profile which has a link here (hello Sarah R and Claire S – and maybe Julia P, Jenny H and Rachel B!), but I don’t really tell people about it.

9. Would your ideal holiday (if funds were unlimited) involve seeing more of your own country or worldwide travel?

I love to travel and I often feel that there’s a lot of the UK that I’d like to explore further, but time is limited at the moment and our preference when it comes to holidays is gorgeous weather and relaxation, so I’d have to say worldwide. I do hope that in the future, as time and funds allow, we are able to travel and see more of the world on our doorstep as well as further afield.

 10. If you could rescue one item from your house in the event of a disaster what would it be?

The answer to this used to be ‘photo albums’, but now all my photos are stored online (thanks, Flickr), I think the answer would be my engagement and wedding rings, and William’s soft toy elephant which he still has on his bed at the age of 14 (don’t tell him I told you that!)

11. If you were invited to a fancy dress party would you get excited, have a head brimming with ideas and immediately throw yourself into creating a fabulous outfit or do you struggle and wish it wasn’t fancy dress?

GREAT question, this. I loathe fancy dress parties, as does Ashley. Thankfully I haven’t been invited to one for years, but the last time I was, I explained that I didn’t ‘do’ fancy dress, and was more than happy to attend the party, if they’d like me to, but I wouldn’t be dressing up! They were fine about it, and we were not the only people to attend in our normal clothes, by a long chalk. Every time somebody looked me up and down and said ‘what have you come as, then?’, I replied ‘A party guest’.

 

Thanks, Jay, for some interesting questions, and if anybody else would like to play along and answer these on your own blog, feel free.  Let me know in the comments so I can come and have a read.

12 thoughts on “Random Questions Tag

  1. I love this. I wanted to be an actress from a young child. Unfortunately I was told by my parents to be a secretary as you will always have a job. My big regret that I didn’t even try!

    Ps my 33 yr old son still has his soft toy.

  2. Good questions set by Jay, She does make me laugh over on her blog.
    I like the sound of your ideal day.
    Hope the travelling is a plan you can achieve, you can start a travel blog then!
    Lisa x

  3. I’m totally with you on tattoos and piercings. I know many people with tattoos, most of them had them done at least a few years ago if not longer and the majority of them look kind of blurred by now, do you know what I mean?

Leave a Reply

