Places I Have Lived

I whiled away a happy hour early one evening this week down the rabbit-hole that is the internet, and somehow found myself on Google Earth looking up places I’ve lived in the past.

 And I thought it would make a good blog post.

 So here’s a whistlestop tour through the places I have lived in my (almost) 46 years on this earth.

 monktonMONKTON

 This is the house my parents brought me home to after I was born, and where we lived until I was 4 years old, in a small town near Bournemouth in Dorset.

ravensdale

 When I was four and just a couple of weeks after my brother was born, we moved to this house, where my parents still live today. It’s only a couple of miles away from the previous house, in a large village called West Moors.  When and if they ever sell it, I will feel a real wrench, and I’ve loved that William has been able to spend time in the house and garden where I grew up.

 torrevieja

 The summer after my A Levels, when I was 17, I lived and worked in Spain for the summer, and this is the apartment block I lived in with three friends (near right of pic, third floor as far as I recall!).  We were very close to the beach (you can just see the sea down the road on the left hand side of the pic). We had a brilliant summer, and I was sad to say goodbye to that apartment and my friends when I left (they all lived permanently in Spain).

pontypridd

 After my summer abroad, I moved to Pontypridd, where I attended the (then) Polytechnic of Wales. After a brief stint in halls of residence, I moved with four friends into this house, about half a mile away from campus. It still looks almost identically rundown to how it did in 1986!

 After my two years in Wales, I moved to Torquay to live with my boyfriend at the time, Jon, and we lived in various grotty rented flats over the course of that time, none of which I can remember the exact addresses of, so no pics.

 ships2

ships1

 After a year in Torquay, I said goodbye to Jon and to Devon, and went off to sea for four and a half years, where I lived and worked on board these four cruise ships.  (From the top, the ss Canberra, the ss Dawn Princess, tss Sky Princess and mv Island Princess.)  Happy memories.

 27 st clements

Whilst still working at sea, I bought my first home of my own, which was the downstairs flat in this building, in Bournemouth. I still own it now, and it’s been rented out to various tenants (stories within themselves, one and all) since I moved to Devon 20-odd years ago.

8e464fab3433280eeb63c2d4de3e04c38cd9d853

 After a couple of very happy years in my flat, I moved to Devon to live with my then-fiance, Ashley, into his home, which was this terraced house in Torquay. It was grotty, and I missed my flat! Ashley still owns this house, and again it’s been rented out since we moved out in 1996.  I should point out that we’ve recently had it fully refurbished and it looks a lot smarter than in this old Google Earth pic now!

SCAN0150

 A couple of months after we got married in 1996, we moved to this end of terrace cottage in Combeinteignhead, a village in South Devon, where we stayed until 1998, when we moved directly across the road to …

SCAN0149

We lived in the thatched cottage and rented out the one on the left (originally a photographer’s studio built by a previous owner of the cottage) to Ashley’s brother and his wife, Although I’d always wanted a thatched cottage with the Aga and the inglenook etc etc, there were a lot of drawbacks once William was on the scene, and even more once he started moving around!

SCAN0151

 In this pic above, you can see how close together our houses were – the first one we lived in on the right facing, and the one we moved to on the near left.  We didn’t need removal men!

We did love the village we lived in and the people, though, so we stayed put until 2005, when we bought a converted barn in Denbury, another, slightly bigger, village.

IMG_2894

 This house needed a LOT of work (almost the entire inside ripping out and refurbing) before we moved in, which was the first time we’d taken on a project of this size, and was really quite stressful.  Once we moved in, though, we loved the house. And hated the location, more and more as time went on.  We stayed 8 years, by which time I was so over village life. And a move into town was on the cards.

 6637 front Aidans

Which brings us to our current home, which we moved into at the beginning of 2014, and where we are all three very happy. Here’s to many more years living here!

16 thoughts on “Places I Have Lived

    • Thanks, Cathy – thought it was time for a bit of a freshen up. Honestly, I can waste hours wandering down memory lane – just digging out the photos for this post took me most of a morning!!

  1. What a super idea. This must be one of my favourite blogs from you, so interesting. Is the house in Torquay in Plainmoor? Harry was on the maiden voyage of the Canberra, many years before you! I wish there was a Google Street Have a Look Inside app though so I could go back to the house we lived in in Forest Road, Torquay which I loved and my childhood home in Babbacombe.

    • Yes, the house in Torquay is in Plainmoor. I also lived in Forest Road briefly when I moved to Torquay and later on in Lower Shirburn Rd, then Woodville Rd in Ellacombe and Morgan Ave in town. I got about quite a bit in the space of 12 months! A Look Inside app would be awesome. One of the reasons I love to look at Rightmove and Prime Location on a regular basis!

  2. Wow, lots of moves there! It always fascinates me how some folk move a lot and others don’t. I’ve lived in the same road now for all but one month of my 48 years, I bought the house 3 doors away from mum and dad. However, I’m about to embark on a move to the country, as the city no longer offers me the life I want. OH has moved around a lot (all over the world) so is not fussed about upping sticks, whereas I am terrified. Will do a new home blog post when we are settled!

  3. What a fab post. Very intereating.John and i purchased our very first house I’m 1985 and we are still living in it! We are selling it next year and making a move to Devon. X Dawn

  4. Interesting post – I took a look at some of the places where I used to live, and also family in my family tree, long since gone, to see where they lived. Nice to see you again, thanks for the blog comment! (The link takes you to my “other” blog).

Leave a Reply

