Reading & Watching Wednesday

 

I’m all confuzzled with the days this week – the Bank Holiday has thrown me off.  How can it be Wednesday already??

Currently Reading

6a010536b33b69970b019b001907f1970b

I’ve read all Jane Green’s books over the years, and have found her more recent novels a bit hit and miss, however, I’m very much enjoying this one.  It’s about a happily married woman in her mid-40s who meets a young, handsome stranger in a bar, what happens next, and the consequences.  I’m about halfway through and can’t wait to pick it up again.

Previous Book

9781447260004

Diane Chamberlain is up there in my top three authors of all time, so I was delighted when some of her earlier works were recently published in the UK for the first time.  I’ve just finished this one, which she wrote in around 1991, I think, and loved it – not my favourite of her books, but still well-written and believable.

I’ve borrowed the Amazon blurb, which gives a far better and more succinct overview of the story than I could:

“Disillusioned actress Eden Riley leaves a life of Hollywood glamour and a broken marriage to return to her mother’s childhood home in rural Virginia. In search of answers about her mother, a famous children’s author who died when she was very young, she meets the handsome yet mysterious Ben Alexander, an archaeologist and friend of her Uncle. But Ben has his own demons, and a secret that threatens to destroy their newfound happiness. Now Eden must make a heart-breaking decision as she struggles to lay the ghosts of the past to rest and come to terms with her own future.”

Up Next

41lX3PYGsNL

Next I’m going to read this, which has been on my Kindle for ages, and has some very good reviews.  I’m looking forward to it.

Watching

03_200514_0_TheGoodWifeSeason2
I’m about halfway through Season 2 of The Good Wife – so well-written, and I love the characters.  An episode of this each evening when I get into bed is my nightly treat at the moment.

* * *

So, what are you watching at the moment?

And have you read anything good?  I’d love to know.

 

6 thoughts on “Reading & Watching Wednesday

  1. I haven’t read anything by Jane Fallon but have read Appletree Yard. Will be interested in your review so won’t comment on it.

    We love the Good Wife. Michael J Fox is in it later and he is superb. Our favourite Thursday night viewing.

  2. I have read Apple Tree Yard. Like Glynis I will be interested in your review and won’t say anything more than the fact that it was a page turner once I was about half way in.
    I have just finished reading A Month in the Country by JL Carr, which calls itself a Modern Classic. It was ok, but if it had been a longer book I probably wouldn’t have carried on with it.

  3. I liked this Jane Green (I also have the new Jane Fallon sat here waiting for me too)….I liked Appletree Yard but it went up and down for me… Will look out for this Diane Chamberlain…have liked her others. Am reading ‘The Divorce Papers’ by Susan Rieger – quite good.
    Must get around to ‘The good wife’ as have heard good things. Just watched the first of the Sarah Lancashire police drama…. Something Valley – which was surprisingly great. Also watching ‘When Barlow met Corden’ (or the other way round) which is very good 🙂

  4. Hmmmm not sure where my last comment went so sorry if I’m repeating myself!!

    Last book I read and loved was by Lindsey Kelk – I love the characters in her books.

    And current tv show of the moment is Once Upon a Time. Like you I treat myself to an episode a night although if the current rain keeps up this weekend it’s quite likely I will finish the first series.

    Victoria
    FlorenceandMary.com

  5. I’m currently reading Thirty Nothing – Lisa Jewell (JS 20p!) Enjoying it so far. Only read one of Diane Chamberlain’s books -Breaking The Silence which I couldn’t put down.

Leave a Reply

