A Bit of A Moany Post

Thursday already?  Feels like winter again this week, here.  Cold and wet – all week.  I’m sitting here with a thick jumper on.  What’s happened to spring?  Weather for the Bank Holiday weekend looks pretty rubbish as well.

Actually, it’s a been pretty rubbish week all round, so far.  I’m involved in a nasty situation involving social workers, domestic violence, alcoholism, a small child, a women’s refuge, a warring couple with special needs, a psychiatric hospital, mental health staff and the housing benefit department at the local Council.  It’s not nice, and trying to liaise between the all the parties concerned is driving me nearly demented.  Honestly, the chaos surrounding some people’s lives is eye-opening.

On a personal front (and yes, I realise how ridiculous this will sound coming on top of the previous paragraph), poor Will is STILL awaiting his big prize from the Gadget Show Live, a month after winning it.  They have fobbed us off endlessly and now have stopped taking my calls.  It’s so frustrating for him, and I’m beginning to wonder if he’ll ever get it.  Every day he gets in the car after school and asks if I’ve heard from them, and every day I have to say no.  It’s awful.

So, no good news here.  Has your week been better than mine?  Tell me something happy.

 

16 thoughts on “A Bit of A Moany Post

  1. OMG I didn’t realise the situation was that bad. How horrendous. Regarding the Gadget Show never watched it so don’t know who it is produced by but I would tweet about it and put them in a bad light.

  2. The situation in your first paragraph sounds dreadful. The second paragraph is very disappointing to read – and not exactly doing much for the Gadget Show’s reputation!
    Now for a happy thing – this afternoon I am going to a matinee performance of Matthew Bourne’s Swan Lake. 🙂

  3. Poor Will, I can’t believe they are being so slack with the sending of his prizes or even contemplating not sending it? Have you tried tweeting them? I find often Twitter comments tend to get companies to get their asses in gear!

    Victoria
    FlorenceandMary.com

  4. Oh, dear. Here’s hoping for satisfactory results on both fronts SOON.

    I have spent the entire week avoiding any work whatsoever…professional or domestic. Lazy days make me pretty happy actually.

  5. sorry to hear you’re having a grim week – sounds so bleak and depressing that situation you’re involved in, and poor Will still waiting for his prize – just takes the joy away doesn’t it. Hope things pick up soon and The Gadget Show gets its flipping act together! x

  6. I hope that it gets sorted and you don’t have too many worries in between. You are a nice landlady. Oh no – that sounds all Queen Vic like again, butyouknowwhatImeanIhope

  7. Sorry things are so rubbish ATM.

    Over on Live journal we’re having fun with Clay, or Clovember in May. You post a picture of yourself every day to show what you’re wearing. Unfortunately it’s Friends Only, so you have to be signed on to LJ and friended to see what I look like (old) and what I wear (bargains).

    Hope things get better soon. BTW I still haven’t succeeded in logging on so I can see your car booty. Boo.

    • Sorry to hear you’re having problems logging in. I’ll send another invitation to view, hopefully that’ll sort it out. YOu do have to make an account, but it’s just a one-time thing, and you should be able to access it freely once you’ve done that.

  8. oh, that really is pants. You’d expect better from a ‘brand’ like that.
    I’ve also struggled to log in to the car booty blog, which I’m sad about as I loved reading about all your exciting finds.

    • Sorry to hear you’re having problems logging in. I’ll send another invitation to view, hopefully that’ll sort it out. YOu do have to make an account, but it’s just a one-time thing, and you should be able to access it freely once you’ve done that.

  9. The situation you talked about in the first part of your post sounds too awful for words. After working in the DWP for over 20 years and hearing all sorts of stuff it still never ceases to amaze me how life can be so dreadful for some.
    I hope the situation re the prizes for Will gets sorted soon, very poor show on their behalf.
    Lisa x

Leave a Reply

