A Weighty Issue

Back in 2007, the year before I started writing this blog, I lost a lot of weight. 3 stone (approx. 40 lbs) to be exact. Although I could have done with losing more, I looked so much better, and felt absolutely great.

Sadly over the last seven years, all the weight has gradually piled back on, and probably a bit more, and I’m now back where I started. Very fat, very unhappy about it, and a long way the wrong side of 40. Not a great mixture, particularly health-wise.

I am aware that I have an extremely unhealthy relationship with food, and I recognize that I will, almost without a doubt, struggle with my weight for the rest of my life. I have started a diet twice this year, and failed twice. Lack of willpower, pure and simple.

So I was really interested when my friend Amy started the Cambridge Diet several weeks ago, and has had some amazing results in a very short time. Until recently, I’ve always been very against meal replacement diets, but I feel now as though I’m in a situation where I’ll give anything a go.

And I started looking into these ‘VLCDs’ (very low calorie diets), and researching the different options. And I decided that I am now desperate enough, and worried enough about the impact of my weight of my health, to try one.

When you have as much weight to lose as I do, the attraction of very speedy weightloss is a big incentive. The thought of Weight Watchers or Slimming World yet again, and that 1 or 2 lbs a week loss just feels too big a mountain to climb.

So today I have started the Exante diet. 600 calories per day, in the form of 3 dehydrated shakes, soups and meals. Along with lots of water, and the occasional can of Coke Zero (oh yeah, Coke Zero, can’t tell you how happy it made me when I found out I could have it with Exante!).

IMG_2531

Yes, it might be a ‘quick fix’. Yes, it might not work. Yes, I might fail. Again. But if I don’t try, how will I ever know?

It won’t be easy, I know that. But I’m hoping that the weight loss will be dramatic, and that the ‘food’ won’t taste too awful. In a weird way, I’m actually looking forward to taking proper food right out of the equation – because of my issues around overeating, maybe this will be a good thing for me.

So wish me luck and send positive vibes my way, please.  I’m keeping everything crossed that this will be the time I succeed.

 

13 thoughts on “A Weighty Issue

  1. Good luck, Caroline! I, too, have a similar struggle to face. I’d be interested to know how you get on, especially since you have a family to cook for as I do. That seems to be the hardest part.

  2. Oh I do wish you the very best of luck. I can remember being in the doctors and being on the scales and being over 9 st when I was forty something and I told them their scales were wrong and honesty believing it. The nurse then told me it was middle aged spread and I could have hit her.

    I also remember a good friend, sadly now deceased, going on a food shake diet but don’t think she had quite got the hang of it when after mixing her shake with milk she then opened her sandwiches and scoffed the lot!

    Personally I couldn’t survive on 600 calories it would make me I’ll. Please keep us all informed how you get on.

  3. Very good luck. I tried the 5:2 last year. The 500 days I was very lethargic. Needed to sleep by 8.30pm. So let me know how that feels……if it also is an issue. The hard bit will maybe be if you still have to prepare ‘proper’ food for your men? Or if you go out…. But I am supporting you from afar and email me if you need a talk down on scoffing things in between and I’ll help you say no. xxx

  4. Ooh, I keep seeing those on Groupon! Good luck. I have the same issues with food. It’s only all the cycling that I’m doing now that is getting the weight off, as I just can’t stick to any diet.

  5. Also, I think sometimes meal replacements can give you the kickstart you need – once you lose a bit of weight, the motivation returns. I know that on the many occasions I’ve done a few weeks of Slimfast that always happens (and then subsides again as I crave chocolate!).

  6. Good luck with the diet ……. I don’t think I could cope with no “proper food”. I have done reasonably well on the 5:2 diet, although I have been slacking a bit recently, as I have been so busy. Looking forward to reading about how you get on.

Leave a Reply

