Sunsets, Retro Chairs & A Recipe

Wow, what a GLORIOUS weekend!  Two fabulous days of warmth and sunshine.  As I said to a  stallholder I was chatting to at the car boot sale yesterday morning, after such an awful wet winter, when the good weather finally comes back, you appreciate it all the more, don’t you?

All this sunshine has found me a little bit obsessed with the beautiful sunsets I can see from my office window in our new house, and I’ve been snapping away like a madwoman for the last week or so.

Here’s a couple of my favourites.

IMG_2178

IMG_2180

 

Especially for Vix, who asked to see, here’s a pic of the chairs I mentioned I was cleaning up yesterday.

IMG_2210

 

They looked better, if not brilliant, after a good clean-up, and are now listed on eBay for sale, as they aren’t really our cup of tea.

And in the spirit of an eclectic mix of topics for a Monday, here’s a super-simple recipe I wanted to share with you – Slow Cooker Onion Marmalade, which is lovely with just about anything.

Photo 25-02-2014 12 21 17 (1).jpg

 

Ingredients:

  • 6 onions, sliced
  • 60ml cider vinegar
  • 60ml balsamic vinegar
  • 500g soft brown sugar
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • few whole cloves

Put all the ingredients into the slow cooker, mix well and cook on high for around 8 hours.  Take the lid off for the last couple of hours so that the mixture reduces down and becomes thicker and more syrupy.

Photo 25-02-2014 12 32 57 (1).jpg

Don’t forget to fish out the cinnamon stick at the end (and the cloves, if you can be bothered to hunt for them – I can’t).

Lovely with cold meats, fish, jacket potatoes, mixed into a pasta sauce – the list is endless really.  But sometimes, simple is best – you can’t beat a spoonful of it on top of cheese and crispy French bread slices.

Photo 25-02-2014 19 53 08 (1).jpg

11 thoughts on “Sunsets, Retro Chairs & A Recipe

  1. loving the new header and blog back ground. looks like stars. right up my alley.

    The picture of the sunset is beautiful

    I will be trying this recipe for the onion marmalade

  2. Snapping sunsets is a favourite pastime of mine too, fab to be able to sit and watch the colours change like that, you’ve such a great view…I have to hang out the bedroom window to see the sun go down here. Not so relaxing!
    Your onion marmalade looks really delicious x

  3. Love the sunsets. I would never get anything done around that time….When do you do your clocks? I know in Spring we are not on the same page for this……

Leave a Reply

