Reading & Watching Wednesday

On a Thursday.  Didn’t get it written for some reason yesterday, but it wasn’t for want of trying.  I don’t know where the day goes, honestly I don’t.

Anyway, the last book I read, which I finished yesterday, was this:

81Ar6iRdM+L._SL1500_

It’s a psychological thriller, debut fiction by this author, and wasn’t bad.  Well-written, if a bit predictable, but I did get rather fed up with all the female characters being weak and helpless and all the male characters being bad and aggressive.  Very cliched.

My current read is this …

Unknown

This book has been much hyped as a big weepy, and compared endlessly to JoJo Moyes’ Me Before You (which I loved, was one of my favourite reads of 2012), so I had high hopes for it.  It’s the story of a woman who has early onset Alzheimer’s, and I’m about a third of the way through it.  So far, although it’s not bad, I can’t help but compare it to a book with almost identical subject matter which I read last year – Still Alice by Lisa Genova – and it doesn’t match up favourably, I’m afraid.

I don’t like to give a damning review without finishing a book first, so I’ll withhold final judgement, but I really hope that I warm to the characters a bit more very soon.

Next book in my pile is this one …

Unknown-1

This is a pre-publication review copy, and is a historical novel set in the late 1800s.  I read the author’s debut, The Last Duchess, a couple of years ago, and really enjoyed it, so I’m looking forward to this one.

* * *

My Sky Plus is groaning under the weight of programmes I’ve been recording recently.  I’m so glad the BBC legal drama, Silk, is back for a third series, and I’m enjoying getting back into Nashville, the country music drama, which is back again.

There aren’t many programmes that Ashley, Will and I all enjoy as a family, but one of the ones we do agree on is Ben Fogle’s Lives In the Wild, which follows people who live off the beaten track.  It’s just ended its second series, and was a fascinating glimpse of lives a world away from our own.

So, have you been watching or reading anything good lately?

8 thoughts on “Reading & Watching Wednesday

  1. I had read a review about the Rowan Coleman book and thought it sounded good but I so loved the Lisa Genoa book that I might wait a while…… I didn’t know SILK was back on so thanks for the heads up. We are going through season 2 of House of Cards at the moment….I am finally reading a terrific book after a lot of blah ones….. A debut novel by a middle aged man but reads so much like written by a young woman…..

  2. I’m still reading Game of Thrones (book 1) and, not having seen the TV series, I am struggling a bit with all the different characters and places. I am going to soldier on, though, because the story is good. I watched Silk this week, which I enjoyed. I haven’t seen the first two series, but I think I wish I had!

  3. I enjoyed Ben Fogle’s show very much, he’s got such a winning way about himself. I haven’t seen any of Silk which is a travesty as Rupert Penry Jones is always a joy to watch!
    Loving In The Line Of Duty and Salamander – I love an edge-of-your-seat cop thriller in any language. x

  4. Also have been watching Ben Fogle. OH now wants to move to Panama and have our own island.

    I have been reading Off the Grid by Nick Rosen, I am also reading Twilight again and Linger by maggie stiefvater (a very quick read and YA so not too heavy

  5. I read Still Alice recently and have recommeneded it to countless others – will have to see if The Memory Book is in our library. We’ve had several tv segments on recently about early onset – it does seem to be the topic of the year so I’ll be eager to compare the two.
    Off topic – what is Jojo Moyes like as a writer? I picked up Sheltering Rain in a 2nd hand place the other day – any idea if it’s any good?
    Cathy

    • Hi Cathy – she’s a very prolific author, but I’ve only read three, I think. I read one set in the 60s which I enjoyed very much, then Me Before You, which was excellent, and then her latest one, The One Before the One, which I thought was just OK – a bit too ‘sitcom’ for my taste. I’m now two thirds of the way through The Memory Book, and it just doesn’t ring as true as Still Alice – it’s disappointing.

  6. I read The Last Duchess with my book club last year ( or was it even the year before?!?); must admit none of us were that impressed by it. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of this latest book by the author.

  7. I did a post on my latest read, a very moving and harrowing book set in 1970’s India – A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry. Well worth a read, although not for the feint hearted!

Leave a Reply

