Beauty: Empties

Time for a another look at products that have (and haven’t) been rocking my world!

Photo 07-02-2014 15 58 55.jpg

 

A mini bottle which I think I must have picked up at a car boot sale.  I think Mango is one of my all time favourite Body Shop ‘flavours’.  Fruity and fabulous.  Definite repurchase.

Photo 17-02-2014 08 29 48.jpg

 

Just realised I’ve mis-typed on the photograph – it should read ‘Nectarine’ not nectar.  Anyway, this was a free sample sent in a Jo Malone order, and I enjoyed using it, though there are other scents I prefer, so I don’t think I’d be buying a full-size one.

Photo 05-01-2014 20 45 47.jpg

 

It’s a long time since I’ve disliked a product as much as I disliked this one.  The only good thing about it was the scent, which was Cocoa Butter.  The spray idea was hopeless – unless you squirted it into your hand and then applied (thus negating the whole USP of the product!), you ended up with a fine mist of body lotion all over your bathroom/bedroom.  Not good.  And as for the product itself, it seemed to have absolutely no moisturising qualities at all and left my skin in exactly the same condition as it was before use.  Utterly hopeless.  So much so that I didn’t finish it.

Photo 22-01-2014 20 46 18.jpg

 

I love the scent of Lily of the Valley (how very ‘old lady’ of me), and this bath gel was fab.  The scent didn’t last on my body, though, and it wasn’t great at producing masses of bubbles, for the price.  I love the matching body lotion, but I probably wouldn’t buy the bath gel again.

Photo 17-02-2014 08 29 04.jpg

 

It’s rare that I have nothing to say, but nothing is exactly what I’ve got to say about this product.  It was just blah.  I don’t remember anything about it and I only finished it last week.  Obviously not a hit.

Photo 17-02-2014 08 18 13.jpg

 

This came as part of a free gift with a magazine subscription, and although it conditioned perfectly adequately, it’s the same complaint I always have with organic products – it just didn’t smell of anything.  Surely it’s not impossible to make organic beauty products smell nice?  I wouldn’t repurchase, just because of the aroma thing: I like my hair to smell nice, I’m afraid.

Photo 10-02-2014 09 32 02.jpg

 

Another month, another body butter.  This one was nice, quite subtle.  Great texture.  Repurchase?  Possibly, if it was on offer.

Photo 22-01-2014 20 46 10.jpg

 

Finally this month, another Simple Eye Make Up Remover bites the dust.  I’ve written before about my love for this product, and a replacement is already in use.

 

So what about you?  Have you found any amazing products you can’t live without recently?  Or had any epic fails?  I’d love to know.

15 thoughts on “Beauty: Empties

  1. I love Lily of the Valley too. I have some Diorissimo eau de cologne by Christian Dior which takes me back to my childhood. We used to be able to buy lily of the valley in our grocers shop in Babbacombe and the scent takes me right back there.

    I am a great fan of Simple products and love their new Radiance serum but found that the eye make up remover isn´t that good for me at taking mascara off. I got a little sample from Lancombe which does the job really well but am loathe to pay out the full price.

    Body butters try Sanctuary Mela, the smell is divine as is the shower gel but unfortunately I can only get it in the UK. Boo hoo.

    • I’m hopeless with ads, as I never watch them, always record in advance and fast fwd through them. Have just watched that one, though, and I agree – it’s very annoying!

  2. I’m currently using the Vaseline Spray and Go and I love it!! Admittedly I’m not sure if it’s just because I feel like patting myself on the back for using a body lotion in it’s easiest form. I literally just spray it all over and leave it at that. Not necessarily the correct use but it’s a step more than I’d usually bother with in the mornings.

    Stay tuned for my empties on Friday.

    Victoria
    FlorenceandMary.com

  3. I agree about the Body Shop Mango ‘flavour’ – I love it too, although I am currently in love with their Raspberry shower gel and body butter, which I first saw mentioned here. 🙂 I’ve just bought the Simple Eye Make up Remover, so it is good to see a recommendation for it.
    I am still loving my Clinique Sparkle Skin, and Jo Malone White Jasmine and Mint Body Creme.

  4. Hi there! I love my magazine freebies of Elemis body cream, I’m not really much into different lotions as such but if they are gifted or a freebie then I do enjoy using them! Loving the look of your blog too, such a nice colourway x

  5. My all-time favourites are Sanctuary Spa lotions and potions ….. I have a bathroom full of them, as Malcolm buys them for me for birthdays and Christmas, and I buy them in Boots when they are reduced after Christmas, or are on special offer. Then I keep the litttle pots to store buttons and beads in, and enjoy the scents every time I open the pots!

  6. I second the comments about Sanctuary Spa lotions and potions – their body butters are fab, as are the creamy shower lotions. And they’re often on 3-for-2 in Boots (not to mention in the sale after Christmas!)

  7. Don’t know if its just me, but I so pleased when I finish a beauty product. Might be because I have such a huge stock to get through but even if its a favourite I am delighted when its gone and a new one begins.

  8. Blimey it would take me about a year to get through this lot of potions and lotions. I’m not very high maintenance I’m afraid and in too much of a hurry at 4am when I get up for work to be arsed with body lotions. Although have finally finished a lovely Sanctuary ‘Relax Cocooning’ Body Butter, (….what a load of bollocks but it does smell good) probably discontinued now as I’ve had it so long.

Leave a Reply

