Foodie Monday

Hmmm, Foodie Monday?  Doesn’t have much of a ring to it, does it?  Couldn’t think of anything more apt in the five seconds I gave myself to come up with a post title, though.  In the spirit of non-procrastination, however, let’s crack on.

How was your weekend?

We had a lovely one.  Friday evening we walked into town, had a couple of drinks in Wetherspoons with my brother and Amanda, grabbed a kebab (haven’t had a kebab for YEARS – was bloody lovely!) and walked home again.   Saturday was a busy one, me in the house and Ashley in the garden and the garage.  Then on Saturday evening we went our for a meal with friends to a place we’ve never tried before, the Crab Shack in Teignmouth.

Despite the fact it’s right on the beach, it hadn’t been washed away in the recent storms, and although it’s small, it’s quirkily decorated and cosy, and we had a really lovely evening, along with some fab food.

img-01

 

Photo 22-02-2014 19 25 27

 

Photo 22-02-2014 19 51 27

 

There were quite a lot of quotes written on the wall – mostly about fishing (the proprietors own two fishing boats and fish for all the seafood for the restaurant themselves), unsurprisingly.  But this one on the loo wall was my favourite …

Photo 22-02-2014 21 29 49

 

Sunday was spent fairly lazily, other than a trip to Torquay to collect Will from his cousin’s, and I managed to plan my menu for this week.  I’ve just got back from the supermarket with all the shopping as well, and am glad that chore is out of the way.

So, in no particular order, this week’s meals will be:

  • Spag bol – old favourite, but haven’t had it for ages.
  • Chicken and ham pie (have lots of cooked meat in the freezer to use up), new potatoes and kale
  • Soy and honey Chinese pork with noodles
  • Chicken tortilla wraps (more cooked meat from the freezer).
  • Spicy lentil burgers with sweet potato wedges.

I’m also going to cook up a batch of onion marmalade, a big pot of spicy lentil and coconut soup, and a peanut butter and banana loaf.

Obviously I’m in a cooking mood this week.

Right, I’m off to unpack the shopping and make a cup of coffee.

 

**Linking up with Mrs M and I’m an Organising Junkie**

7 thoughts on “Foodie Monday

  1. I’m glad that someone else admits to liking kebabs! However I won’t join you in eating crabs, as they disagree most horribly with me. Your menu sounds delicious – I would pop in for dinner, but you are too far away!!

Leave a Reply

