Friday Treat: Passionfruit & Coconut Squares

Photo 24-01-2014 15 34 15

 

I was never much of a one for sweet things until I gave up smoking (a decade ago?  I wonder how long it was.  No idea now.)  and then I suddenly developed something of a sweet tooth.  Not good for my waistline, but hey ho, at least my lungs were grateful.

I do try not to over-indulge in calorie-laden sweet treats, but the beauty of these is that a small square is always enough.  Although they’re rich (yes, I’m looking at you, Nestle’s Milk!), the lemon juice and passionfruit give them a lovely sharp bite, and they’re a big hit with everybody who’s tried them.

So here’s the recipe, if you fancy giving them a go.

Photo 24-01-2014 14 28 41

 

  • 1 cup self-raising flour
  • 1 cup dessicated coconut
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 100g melted butter (I use Stork, it works fine)
  • 1 can of condensed milk (takes me back to my childhood)  approx 400g.
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 3 passionfruit – insides scooped out

1.   Mix flour, sugar, coconut and melted butter together.

Photo 24-01-2014 14 35 05

 

2.  Press into a tin and bake at 180C for approx 10 mins or until golden brown.

Photo 24-01-2014 14 37 27

3.   Mix together rest of ingredients, pour on top of base, and cook for another 15 mins approx, or until it’s just firm to the touch.

Photo 24-01-2014 14 47 17

4.  Cut into little squares.  

5.  Eat.  Yum.

Super easy, too.  My kinda baking.

 

8 thoughts on “Friday Treat: Passionfruit & Coconut Squares

  1. Not sure about these as I haven´t got a sweet tooth but am willing to try them for you just pop one in an envelope and send!!! I dont suppose you have a recipe for a basic tray bake. If you google you can find a hundred and one tray bake recipes but not one basic one which can be adapted.

  2. Pingback: M is for… Mrs M’s Meanderings | Broke in the Big Smoke

Leave a Reply

