Friday 5: Reasons I’m Loving Living In Town

friday5

Our recent move has meant that we are living within a ten minute walk of our local town centre, after 17-odd years of village/country life.  As regular readers will know, I was more than ready for the move and so far I’m absolutely loving it.  Here are some of the reasons why.

1.   Our new location really is the best of both worlds – although we’re close to the town centre, we are right next door to a field full of ponies, including this cheeky little chap.

1981bed281fe11e3a4690e6a90eb8fb0_8

2.   Food delivery!  Seriously, my level of excitement at ordering a pizza online and having it turn up at the door 20 minutes later was off the scale of ridiculousness.  William tells me that Domino’s even have an app for doing this.  Who knew?!

3.   Saving money on petrol.  I have literally halved my petrol consumption over the last couple of weeks.  Which is no small benefit in a Range Rover, I can tell you.

4.   Saving money on car parking.  Because I can walk into town.  I mean, I’ve only done it once, so far (it’s OK on the way there, but it’s a big uphill climb on the way back), but I could.  If I wanted to.  And I’m sure I will once the weather is a bit more pleasant.  Maybe.

5.   Shorter school runs.  Timed myself yesterday afternoon.  Took me 6 minutes to get to school.  Can’t tell you how happy that made me.

As they say, it’s the little things.

It’s been a long old week this week, and I’m looking forward to the weekend so much.  I have very few plans, but I’m hoping that Sunday isn’t wet, so I can get to a car boot sale for the first time in what-feels-like-forever.  And if I do, I’ll be sharing my bargains here, of course, so do pop by on Sunday for a look-see.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Friday 5: Reasons I’m Loving Living In Town

  1. I do understand. I think we all go through different phases in our lives in which we need different things. When we were first married we lived in Watcombe Park, Torquay which was out of town and was great for us then along came the little ones and I got fed up with being so far out and hauling children on to buses etc (we couldn´t afford a second car for a long time) so I wanted to move closer to town. We ended up living in Forest Road with a supermarket around the corner and an easy walk to St Marychurch and a quick bus ride to town and the library. Then I was asked to move by the Prudential who I worked for as a District Agent on to my “area” which was Newton Abbot and out on to the Moors. We bought a brand new house overlooking the town four bedrooms, double garage and I hated it. Life then changed again and I knew we had to downsize and I wanted to go back to Torquay so we ended back where we started in Watcombe Park just further up the hill for another seven or so years and then moved to Spain. At some stage there will be a move back to St Marychurch when I don´t know but I am sure the clock will turn again. What I do remember and loved was Bradley Park and cycling through it on a lovely Sunday afternoon when the river was full and the woods were covered in Spring flowers.

  2. Glad to hear everything is going well since your move. It’s no nice when you live somewhere that has the best of both worlds. My argument always is when someone wants to move ‘out to the country’ is that I want to be somewhere that when it snows I can still walk 10 mins down the road to buy a loaf of bread but be snowed in sufficiently not to be able to get to work! HaHA!

    And the Domino’s app – well now that’s my best friend.

    Victoria
    FlorenceandMary.com

  3. I so so get you. We had this after we moved from Connecticut sticks to City life (Atlanta). I *may* have over dosed on getting take out delivered – just because I could. As it was America there was still very little walking though.
    Now we’re back to no shops in walking distance…. we’ve both said, never again.
    Just think of all the extra books you can read now the school run is shorter! 🙂
    Glad you are feeling settled. xx

  4. When I was on my own for 6 weeks last year I longed to be able to take a walk to shops, cafes etc, its a 10 mile round trip to our nearest civilisation, so I fully understand your delight at your new location. You have the ideal position, and a gorgeous house, now could you find me something similar but smaller and in the north.

  5. Ha! Pizza delivery was one of the first things we took advantage of when we moved to our current house after 12 years in the sticks. No shops near enough to walk, but just being able to go to the grocery and back in under an hour is SO much better than the afternoon trip (after including all town errands to save gas) that it used to be. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!

  6. So glad that you’re settling into your new home. It’s nice to have the best of both worlds. 14 years ago, we made the move from city living to town living. Big difference. We’re on the edge of town. 2 miles to the town centre but a mile away from open fields. Not sure I could live in the middle of nowhere as I’m very much a city girl at heart but this is a nice compromise. Plus London is just a short train ride away if I miss the bright lights.

Leave a Reply

