Follow Up: Happy Jar

IMG_1568

You may remember, just about a year ago, that I wrote about my one year Happy Jar project.

I’m pleased to report that I managed to keep the Happy Jar going all year, and when I finally came to open it up yesterday, it had about 150 ‘happy notes’ in it.

I spent a very enjoyable hour reading through the notes and remembering little things that I had totally forgotten throughout the year, and it made me realise how lovely it would be to keep a more lasting memory of these little tiny moments of joy.

So this year, I’m planning something similar, but in diary form.  I picked up the diary in the photo above, which seemed quite appropriate for such a project, for about £3 on eBay.

And, in order that I don’t forget some of my favourite Happy Jar moments from 2013, I thought I’d share them here.

* * *

William: Miss Marple’s a bit like James Bond, isn’t she?

Me: Sorry?

William: I mean that a lot of different actors have played her.

* * *

Being brave and overcoming a fear – the Bat Cave at Longleat.

* * *

3rd Sept – Sitting outside in the garden after dinner with Ashley having a post-prandial brandy and enjoying the late summer evening.

* * *

E Tickets!!! AT LAST!!! 4th Sept.

* * *

First day back at school – the day lasted ages and I got so much done.  Happy to see my boy at the end of the day, though.

* * *

Sleeping 11 hours in my own lovely cosy bed after camping, and waking up feeling refreshed.

* * *

Getting my menu plan and shopping for the week ahead completed – nothing like a sense of organization to bring on the happy!

* * *

Feeling better after a hangover – nothing like waking up the next morning feeling OK again!

* * *

Spending almost all of Saturday reading an unputdownable book.

* * *

After a weekend of no house purchase, suddenly it’s all going ahead again – and at a better price!!

* * *

Chicken curry from the Chinese.  Yum.

* * *

A regular morning joke with Ashley about ‘Tom coming to wake us up on his fighter plane’ when the alarm goes off (it’s the theme tune to Top Gun).

* * *

Cuddling my boy after a week away from him.  And him cuddling me.

* * *

So proud of William for getting a Maths scholarship.

* * *

24 hours camping with no phone signal and no screens.  Quality family time in the sunshine.

* * *

Eating al fresco two nights in a row – can’t remember doing that for years in the UK!

* * *

Manager of the charity shop offering me first pick of stuff that hasn’t been put out for sale yet.

* * *

Off-road Land Rover driving course – far more fun than I anticipated.

* * *

Reminiscing about fun times with Mum & Dad.

* * *

Seeing the rescue horses happily chewing on their hay and looking so much healthier, in the field on the corner.

* * *

Elderly lady in little village in Cyprus rushing out of her house after seeing us admire her pomegranate tree, and picking a bagful and giving them to us.

* * *

Filming and uploading my first ever vlog.  And the lovely comments.

* * *

Will: “Thailandish people”.

* * *

Cashier in Asda refunding my £1 car park ticket, even though I hadn’t quite reached the requisite £10 spend, ‘because you seem like a nice person’.  Made me feel great.

* * *

Even though my boy is taller than me, and a teenager, he still slips his hand into mine occasionally when we’re out for a walk.

* * *

Read on Facebook: Can’t we give Lance Armstrong a break?  I tried riding a bike once on drugs.  If anything, it was harder.  I was in a hedge within seconds.

* * *

Finally being free of a five day long headache.  Bliss.

* * *

Ashley and William doing DIY together at Clifford Drive.

* * *

Coming home from Bath on the train with my BFF, with a bottle of wine, putting the world to rights.

* * *

Feeling proud at parents’ evening – one of his teachers called Will a ‘fine fellow’.

* * *

Will sidling into my bedroom one night and asking me where his Ellie is.  (I’d just put it into the wash, and he had missed it straight away).  He may be 13, but he still loves his Ellie.  Aaahhh!

* * *

Surprising Mum on her 70th birthday in North Devon.

* * *

So many butterflies in the garden this summer.

* * *

Our lovely pool and terrace at Aphrodite Hills.

 

So, there we have it.  It really is the little things that make us smile on a day to day basis.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Follow Up: Happy Jar

  1. ohhhhhh I think I might steal this idea. I find it very easy to remember bad things. this will make me see the good side of stuff. Love Will’s comments!

  2. I want one of those books now…..
    I also remember laughing at the Lance Armstrong joke.
    Is ‘Ellie’ an elephant sort of blanket? Just wonder as my 13 year old has one too….. can’t remember if we got it in uK or US though.
    That is such a cool idea, Did you ever re-read them during the year or did you wait until just now?

    • Ellie is a small blue soft elephant toy which Will was given when he was born by Ashley’s aunt, and he’s loved him ever since. As for the Happy Jar, no, I waited until the end of the year before I allowed myself to read them – and I was really glad I did, as there were so many that i’d forgotten!

Leave a Reply

