Brilliant Bartering!

As you all probably know, I love to barter.  Over the years, I’ve honed my skills pretty well at car boot sales and markets, and I’ve even, on more than one occasion, managed to get discounts in ‘proper’ shops.  What’s not to like?  Who doesn’t love a bargain?

So, I wanted to buy this particular thing (I’m not being secretive, but I don’t want to say what it is in case of the very remote possibility that Ashley reads this) for Ashley for Christmas.

Brand new, it costs about £250, which was far more than I wanted to pay, so I looked around for second hand ones.  There were several on Amazon, ranging from around £120 upwards.  There was also one in the Ox.fam online shop, for £140.

This was back in September.  After considering the various options, I decided that I really didn’t want to spend more than £100 on this item, and didn’t think any about it.

A couple of weeks ago, I was clearing out my internet bookmarks, and came across the item again on the Ox.fam website – still for sale at £140.

Without thinking too much about it, I fired off an email to them saying that I noticed that the item was still for sale after several months, and although I was interested in buying it, I wouldn’t be prepared to spend more than £70.  I fully expected not to get any response at all, but imagined that if I did, it would be an offer of a reduction in price of about £20.

So I was absolutely gobsmacked a couple of days later to get an email from them thanking me for my message, and saying they’d reduced the item to £70, and it was now available for me to buy at that price.  Obviously, I was delighted, and off I went and bought it immediately.

Now I realise that some people don’t approve of bartering with a charity, but Oxf.am were clearly happy to receive an offer and sell the item for what they could get for it, rather than have it hanging around for several more months unsold. As far as I’m concerned, that’s win/win all round.

And possibly my best ever barter!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Brilliant Bartering!

  1. Well done you! What a bargain! I’m not the bravest haggler, but it’s often worth a whirl isn’t it – sure, the worst they can say is no.

    By the way thanks so much for the book – I’m looking forward to reading it 🙂 x

  2. They obviously couldn’t sell it. so any money they got for it is good. I have haggled in the British Heart Foundation once. it was the principle in the end. it was a tiny wall mounted old ladies telephone shelf. they wanted a whopping £25 for it. you can buy them for half that in Argos new!!!!! It was there for months. they were moving to smaller premises and said anything with a sticker on, make us an offer. so I did. the man started laughing and I said they are only £12 in argos new! he said he was thinking £22. lol I walked out of the shop.

    The kicker? it was in the rubbish bag outside on my way home and the lady who was the manager was telling people to take what they wanted as they had to pay for stuff to be taken away if they were junking it. I took it home, washed it spray painted it. Next time I was in town I put £5 in the pot on the desk in the new shop. that man was a plank

  3. Charity shops in our town really push the prices and, as someone has said, items are donated so any monies are better than none.

Leave a Reply

