Reading & Watching Wednesday

51PGQtW-ItL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU02_I was amazed when I popped into the library last week to return a book and saw the new Bridget Jones book sitting on the shelf.  I’m just about to start it, and really looking forward to getting stuck in.

homeland season 3 poster

 

Is anybody else watching Season 3 of Homeland?  I am SO disappointed with it after first two brilliant seasons – I feel as though it’s really lost its way, and I sit watching it with my finger hovering over the fast forward button – never a good sign.  I’ll probably stick with it till the end of this season, but if it doesn’t improve considerably, I certainly shan’t bother watching the next one.  Such a shame.

Have you read or watched anything good lately?

 

7 thoughts on “Reading & Watching Wednesday

  1. I’m so glad someone else thinks the same about Homeland. I wasn’t involved in the hype first season yet when the second was announced and they re-ran series I watched more or less one another the other I loved it. The third just leaves me bored to be honest, I feel like nothing is happening and tend to find myself only half paying attention.

    I’m sure I’ve mentioned before but my favourite programme at the moment is Scandal. It’s one of the few programmes I actually enjoy from beginning to end, episode after episode – I don’t know what I’ll do when it’s over.

    And have I suggested the film Now They See Them? I watched this last week I think on Box Office and thoroughly enjoyed it and have recommended to anyone who will listen.

    Victoria x
    FlorenceandMary.com

  2. Homeland is a bit slow this season but I’m still watching. Also enjoyed the 3 part Escape Artist with David Tennant, though it didn’t make ideal watching for a girl on her own in the countryside.

  3. Tend to agree about Homeland but the last few minutes were pretty hair raising. I am missing Brodie and really didn´t like the fact that they seemed to be turning him in to an addict. Enjoyed the Escape Artist, still loving Boardwalk Empire, Downton and am looking forward to the third series of Borgen starting Saturday on BBC4, and Last Tango in Halifax next week. Oh and forgot to mention my favourite The Walking Dead.

    Not sure about the new Bridget Jones will wait for your review. Just finished Dolly by Susan Hill (a ghost story) and have just started on a Diane Chamberlain which I haven´t read before.

    I was thinking last night what would I prefer a really, really good book which I am completely engrossed in or a good tv programme and I had to come down in favour of the book the reason being, for me, is that I am there inside the book with the characters whereas with tv/film I am on the outside looking in.

  4. I still haven’t seen Season 2 of Homeland, so haven’t tried watching this new one, however I have read reviews which are not good – mainly saying that it has lost its way. I’ve been watching the Escape Artist, which was entertaining because David Tennant is always good value, but I did find the story a bit far fetched sometimes. Other than that I am mainly watching Strictly Come Dancing, and catching up with Modern Family Season 4.

  5. I am in the queue at the library for the Bridget Jones book…. I agree ‘Homeland’ is VERY slow this season….
    Did you watch the David Tennant 3 part mystery on BBC1? Very good.
    If you get chance go and see ‘The Butler’ at the cinema. EXCELLENT film.

Leave a Reply

