October Movies

Late.  Yes, I know.  Oh well, here goes anyway:

1.   Hitchcock

Unknown

With two of my favourite actors – Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren – this was bound to be a winner as far as I was concerned.  It focused on the making of the movie Psycho and I really enjoyed it.  Both lead actors were, needless to say, absolutely excellent.

2.   The Messenger

Unknown-1

 

This film centres on a young army officer who has just returned from a tour in Iraq and is assigned to the unpleasant task of informing relatives when soldiers are killed overseas.  His relationship with an older, somewhat jaded officer he is assigned to work with is pivotal to the story, and after a slow start, I thoroughly enjoyed this believable tale of grief, friendship and survival.

3.   The Notebook

the-notebook1

 

Don’t know quite how I’ve never watched this dual time-frame romantic drama, based on a Nicholas Sparks novel, until now, but I just loved it.  And wept buckets.  And buckets.  Perfect for snuggling up on the sofa on a winter’s afternoon.

4.   Stolen

11171698_det

 

As I’ve said before, it’s always a bad sign when you have to Google a film you’ve watched recently to remind yourself what it was about.  A forgettable (obviously!) action thriller with Nicolas Cage set in New Orleans during Mardi Gras.

5.   Song For Marion

song-for-marion-poster

 

I had high hopes for this British comedy drama about an OAPs choir, as I’d seen the trailers and it looked amusing and had quite a good cast, but it failed to hit the spot for me, I’m afraid.

Film of the month?  The Notebook.

What have you watched recently?

 

11 thoughts on “October Movies

  1. Must see Notebook sounds like my type of movie. Watched Untouchable a French movie with sub titles. Wonderful. Wonderful a paraplegic man takes on a black criminal as his carer and learns to love life again. It was so funny and moving. Based on a real story. Addedbenefit of a gorgeous actor to lust after.Highly recommended.

  2. I haven’t seen any of those films so the reviews are welcome; I am looking forward to seeing Philomena though which has been highly recommended.

  3. How had you never seen the Notebook?! I must admit I limit my watching of it as I just find it so heartbreaking. I need to see the Hitchcock film, I must look out for that.

    Victoria

Leave a Reply

