Beauty: Empties & New Purchases

empties 1

Left to Right:

1.   Label M Therapy Age Defying Shampoo – Bought this after reading a couple of recommendations on beauty blogs.  It’s around £14, which is far more than I’d normally pay for a shampoo.  Smelt divine, nightmare to get a lather, had to use loads to get my hair feeling clean (is this because it’s sulphate free, I wonder?).  Overall a big disappointment for the price.  Won’t be repurchasing.

2.   Superdrug Optimum Super Antioxidant Grape Ultra Rejuvenating Night Cream.  Bloody hell, what a mouthful!  I was impressed by this as a product.  It’s a lovely light lotion which absorbs really well into the skin and moisturises well (light rather than heavy, though – twice or week or so I alternated it with a more heavy duty night cream).  What really, really annoyed me about this product, though, was that due to the design and weight of the bottle, you have absolutely no idea how much product is left, so absolutely hopeless for taking away on holiday or a weekend break, or anywhere.  On this basis alone, I would not repurchase this product, but see below for a good alternative.

4.   Boots Extra Firm Hold Mousse – having tried many, many hair styling products over the years, I’ve come to the conclusion that hair mousse is hair mousse is hair mousse.  So I buy a big can of the cheapest one these days.  Repurchase?  No doubt, once I’ve used up some of the stash of alternatives in my haircare basket.

empties 2

4.  M&S Formula Skin Care Age Repair Night Cream – this is a travel size from a set given to me as a gift, and I really liked it.  It was rich without being sticky on application, and is specially formulated for the over 40s.  At £9.50 for a 50ml tub, I shall definitely be repurchasing this one.

5.   Body Shop Mango Whip Body Lotion  – a slightly lighter alternative to body butter, which smells just as divine, I think I picked this up from a car boot sale.  It was a bugger to get out of the container once there was only a little bit left, and I had to take to the recalcitrant bottle with the bread knife, but I managed to get every last drop in the end.  Repurchase?  Yes – but ideally in a different container!

And now for a quick tour of some remedial beauty shopping I did a couple of weeks ago to take my mind off the house debacle.

IMG_0957

 

IMG_0959

 

Browsing the skincare shelves in Superdrug, I found that the night cream I’d just finished (see above) had been slightly rebranded as suitable for age 25+, and as they had a new range for those of us 35+, and the night cream was in a sensible jar, I decided to give that and the Overnight Skin Renewal Serum a whirl.  I haven’t tried either yet, but will let you know how they are once I go.

The whole range was on a ‘better than half price’ offer (and still is, according to the website), bringing the price of the night cream down to a very reasonable £6.99 and the serum to £7.48.

IMG_0961

 

I bought a replacement of the GOSH foundation primer, which I wrote about here , and which was reduced from £12.99 to £8.99.

IMG_0958

 

I have used and used and used my MUA neutral eye palette, so felt fully justified in splashing out another £4 (go me!) on this matte version.  I like it, but not as much as the original one.

IMG_0962

 

I’ve read a couple of positive reviews of this product online, so when I saw it in Poundland (at the princely cost of £1, unsurprisingly), I snapped it up.  Annoyingly, I didn’t realise it was ‘light’ until I got home, but it looks to be on the medium side of light so I’ll give it a whirl.

IMG_0960

 

Another product that I’ve read about and wanted to try, it’s a wash off tanner.  There are loads of before and after pics around the net, and I splashed out a whole tenner.  Again, I’ve not had a chance to try it yet, but will report back when I do.

Have you discovered any great beauty products lately?

6 thoughts on “Beauty: Empties & New Purchases

  1. I was lethal with the Sally Hansen legs tanner! And ruined my carpet with my overzealous spraying but it does work well. Can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

    Victoria

  2. I was given an expensive BB lotion by a friend for Christmas last year. Not impressed with it and wouldn´t buy another. Apparently it is now CC lotion which is all the rage. I think I prefer individual items to do the trick. When last in the UK I bought Olay anti-wrinkle firm and lift day cream and serum. Really love it my skin can be on the dry side but I don´t need an additional moisturiser with this. And it was cheap. I was also treated for my birthday to Clarins Wonder Perfect mascara, not cheap, but it was recommended to me by a friend as being amazing. And it is! Never had a mascara like it better than Lancome which I would usually buy for a treat. It makes your lashes look twice as thick and long.

    I wish we had a Body Shop here I would be rushing out to buy the Mango whip.

    Apparently Simple are now doing a radiance product which might be worth a try.

  3. Yes I’ve seen that Simple radiance cream advertised on the box. I’m not loyal to many beauty products I do always buy Clinique foundation, baby lotion for removing eye make-up and a Suuqu eyebrow pen…that’s about it. I did find a nice shampoo also without sulphates, that lathers really well – L’Oreal Everstrong.. think it’s about £7 normally but I got it when it was halfprice in Superdrug. I bought the Sally Hansen fake tan but only used it once, compared to the self tanners I usually use I found it too messy, I didn’t pay a tenner tho.

  4. Pingback: Beauty: Empties | Mrs M's Meanderings

Leave a Reply

