Reading & Watching Wednesday – And A Giveaway

Before I start, thanks so much for all the nice comments on yesterday’s post – very much appreciated.

Despite this morning’s grey skies and lashing rain, I have woken up feeling much more upbeat and determined not to let it all get on top of me.  Fingers crossed.

Anyway, onto more interesting stuff.  After a few very average reads, I started this last night, hoping for something a bit more unputdownable:

private-james1

It’s a crime thriller set during last year’s London Olympic Games, and so far it’s just alright, though I’m reserving judgement until I get a bit further into it.

I was lucky enough to get a pre-publication review copy of JoJo Moyes’ new book The One Plus One yesterday in the post, which I’m really looking forward to getting stuck into.  I’ve no idea what the story is about, but having absolutely loved Me Before You, I can’t wait to read it.  It’s due to be published in hardback next February.IMG_0994

Unusually, they sent me two copies of the book – one for me, and one to pass on (it kinda fits in with the title, I guess – clever marketing).  So I decided to give a copy away to one of my readers – if you’d like to win my spare copy, please comment below. I’m afraid it’ll have to be UK only, as it’s a great heavy thing (I know this as I dropped one of them on my foot just after taking the photo for this post!)  I will draw the winner’s name out of the virtual hat next Tuesday, the 22nd Oct.

Wentworth Foxtel season 1

 

I seem to be on constant catch-up with my Sky Plus at the moment, and one of the shows I’ve been enjoying is Wentworth, which is a remake of the cult 80s hit, Prisoner Cell Block H (anybody else remember that?  I used to love it).  The new version is somewhat slicker – no wobbling scenery(!) –  but still just as soapy and entertaining.

Have you read or watched anything good lately?

14 thoughts on “Reading & Watching Wednesday – And A Giveaway

  1. I’ve never read a James Patterson, but so many people have that I think I should give him a go. I’ve been doing some viewing catching up too, not on Sky Plus, but a box set of Modern Family. Somehow they have passed me by for three series, so I have been using every spare moment to catch up! If you haven’t watched it, I recommend it.

  2. My Gill loves Wentworth ( and I’m secretly enjoying it too)
    One of my resolutions for my big 5-0 tomorrow is to read more so can I enter your comp, please?

  3. I have got the Jo Jo Moyles to review too. Will be interesting to compare notes. Just finished a Cecilia Ahern which I have to review. First one I have read and not impressed. If I didn´t have to review it would have given up. Quite fancy reading the new Booker prize winner but at nearly 10 quid will give it a miss. I am a big Stephen King fan so have just finished Dr Sleep which I loved.

    Agree about Modern Family just love it although I did think last series wasn´t so good. Looking forward to The Tunnel tonight.

    • I think Cecelia Ahern’s books are dreadful – only ever read two, and hated them both. Be interesting to see how The Tunnel compares with The Bridge, which I loved.

      • I loved The Bridge too……will be interesting to see comparison. Interesting about your comment on Cecilia Ahern, I certainly won´t be reading any more. The trouble is when you have to do a review I find it is very difficult to do a negative one, you feel compelled to say something positive but it is hard in this case.

  4. So sorry to read you’ve been feeling low. Very frustrating to have to stay put when you’ve moved on emotionally. Really hope you get some good house news soon.

    On the watching front, I’m struggling to like anything on the box at the moment! Miss having some good telly to look forward too. Maybe I should try Wentworth x

  5. I have never read anything my Jo Jo Moyles… How is that happened?

    I am reading one about Ranulf fiennes right now. By god he has a stiff upper lip! ‘Just popping off to the shed love, to chop off my finger. Put the kettle on I will be back in a minute’. Wow.

    I am eagerly waiting for the new walking dead series and for the spin off from the vampire diaries, I think it is called the originals

  6. Haven’t read any of these Caroline but have Me Before You and The Help waiting. Not watching anything much on the box, shiftwork is not conducive to following a series and I’ve no Skyplus. Am looking forward to the return of Call The Midwife and The Returned.

  7. OMG I used to watch Prisoner Cell Block H late at night at Uni! My Hubby calls me ‘Bee’ with all the keys on my keyring now!! I will have to check it out!
    I recently read James Patterson’s Mistresses which was, erm, ok.
    Can I join in the book competition seeing as I have a UK mailing address?

    Try and read the latest Maggie O’Farrell….. very good IMO.

  8. Pingback: Holiday Pics – Kurumba, Maldives | Mrs M's Meanderings

Leave a Reply

