Why I Haven’t Been Here (Or ‘Woe Is Me’)

A lovely internet friend emailed me earlier to ask if I was OK as I hadn’t blogged or tweeted for a few days.

I am OK.  But not great.

I mostly try and keep my blog as a place for positive, happy things, hence the recent quiet times around here.

I am the type of person that needs a ‘plan’ – just as much for what I’m going to do on any given day, as for the long-term future.  And until very recently, as you know, the plan was that we were moving to an amazing house, in a perfect location for us.

And now … there is no plan.

Our house is still up for sale.  We have had 26 viewings.  I am sick of trying to keep it looking constantly like a show home.

There are two sets of people who’d like to buy it, but one is yet to sell their own house, and the others have lost their buyers.  Twice.

If we do sell it, we have nowhere to move to.  There is not a single house for sale in the area we want to live in that we want to view (and I check Rightmove every day).  But equally, we all know that we don’t want to live here any more.

Mentally, I had disengaged from the house and the village, and with the house still up for sale I’m finding it very hard to re-engage with it at all.

To exacerbate matters, the house we were buying is still possibly for sale, though probably not on terms we’d be happy with, and the guy selling it is an absolute loony, whose word is about as reliable as a cheesecloth condom.

What makes me even crosser is that I have no right to feel miserable about it.  I think I’m being ridiculously self-indulgent, and it’s making me dislike myself.  Talk about bloody #firstworldproblems.

Good God, I have a lovely family, I live in a house many people could only dream about, I have plenty of money and I’m off to the Indian Ocean next week.  I mean, it’s not what you’d call a hard life, is it?

So that’s why I haven’t been around much.  Because frankly, I’m even boring myself now.

 

 

14 thoughts on “Why I Haven’t Been Here (Or ‘Woe Is Me’)

  1. I do understand, I am the same mentality. When I want something, I want it now and cannot but help think about it 24/7. Perhaps you would be better to put the plan on hold until the Spring. Spring always brings out a rush of new properties, one of which may be your dream house. The only other thing is to go back to your ex-vendor put your cards on the table and state we will offer you so much. Do you want it or don´t you. At least you will then stop wondering “if only”.

    • It’s more complicated than just the money, unfortunately. I know what you mean about spring, though – I’d have taken ours off the market, but Ashley’s insisting on the keeping it on. Hence some of the angst.

      • I found that if a house has been on the market too long the feeling is that there must be something wrong with it whereas if it is taken off the market and then put back on it seems new and fresh. Plus if you have nowhere you want to move to it seems the sensible option.

  2. I hear every word you say honey, its a horrible thing. All I can say is to keep yours on the market, we were in a similar situation and miraculously our agent came up with a more perfect house. Hang on in there xx

  3. I agree with Glynis and don’t think many people choose to go house hunting in the months leading up to xmas….but then what do I know, Ashley’s the estate agent. Don’t beat yourself up about feeling pissed off about the whole episode, everyone’s entitled to feel down sometimes. I’m like you, when I’m feeling hard done by I don’t blog, don’t want people thinking I’m a whinger. Hope the holiday puts a smile on your face.
    x

  4. If I didn’t blog when I am down and pissed off I’d never have written half my posts!!!
    I feel for you. I think you have it in a nutshell….the discomfort of being in limbo – plus the pressure of showing the house perfectly (impossible IMO with kids)..and then the what ifs when you do sell. It is a lot on your plate mentally.
    Plus it sounds as your dream house and the sale are being held hostage by nutty cheesecloth condom man (like the image) so you really don’t know whether you are coming or going.
    But you can go on your hols and forget about it for a wee while and if it’s still so raw on your return come to London and see me and let the ‘men of the house’ keep it showhouse tidy. xxx

  5. Caroline, they say buying and selling a house is one of the most stressful things in life so it’s no wonder you feel the way you do. As you Brits say – keep your chin up and roll with the punches.
    Enjoy your time in the sun – winter might have arrived when you get home lol
    Take care
    Cathy

  6. You have every right to feel down now and again. Having things in your life out of your control is awful and feeling that you shouldn’t feel so bad when you have so much doesn’t help. It would be different if you were a young couple setting out together, you could take the knocks easier and recover. Look forward to your holiday and know that things will eventually work out, don’t they always. Take care, would shoes help?

  7. It must be really disheartening when something you think is so nearly within your grasp is snatched away for no apparent reason. All that planning, excitement, hope etc, has come to nothing, and I would say it’s natural to feel very down about it. Perhaps something good is going to come out of it in the end – something even better might come along, who knows, but in the meantime focus on looking forward to your lovely holiday with family in a gorgeous location. 🙂

  8. So sorry everything is going t**S up on the house front, you have every right to feel upset and p****d off, feel free to rant, I know how you feel about not wanting to be in your house (however beautiful) and I think we sometimes fall out of love with a place. I can’t wait to get out of here. Enjoy your holiday,take a deep breath and when the time is right you will find a buyer and also find a fabulous home that you love xxxx

  9. Oh Sweetpea! Its because you fell in love with it and mentally moved in. Lets hope you sell soon. What about buying a plot and building? If anyone is capable of it, it has to be you! you have exceptional organising skills.

    First rule with builders is once they are on site, make sure to cook them lunch so they do leave and have an extended time away. You would have the house up in a month! LOL

    You will have an amazing time away, remember to ask for left over bread to feed the lovely bright coloured fish. I wish I was coming

  10. We’re all entitled to woe is me/down moments.. I’ve had plenty myself over the most ridiculous things and I think it is quite understandable that you’re feeling jolly well fed up. Everyone says house buying is stressful so I’m sure you’re not alone.

    Victoria

    FlorenceandMary.com

Leave a Reply

