September Movies

A week into October already, so I’d better list these before I forget what they were about.  That was actually a bit of a lie, as I just had google one of them to remind myself of the content, as I actually had no recollection whatsoever of the plot.  My memory is not what it once was, sadly.

1.   Silver Linings Playbook

pat-and-tiffany-silver-linings-playbook-15808-1920x1200

I’m not generally a fan of anything revolving around mental illness, but I really enjoyed this quirky love story and its characters.   Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence were both excellent, as was Robert De Niro.  Well worth a watch.

2.   The American

220px-TheAmerican2010Poster

 

Oh my Lord, what a yawn-fest this was.  Not even George Clooney could save it.  The blurb informed me that it was a suspense thriller about a hitman, but after waiting an hour for something – anything – to happen, I gave up and switched off.  Dreadful.

3.   About Time

About-Time-UK-Quad-Poster-585x443

 

Went to the cinema to see this, and reviewed it here.

4.   The Debt

the-debt-dvd-cover-17

Excellent thriller, starring Helen Mirren as a Mossad agent.  It’s a dual time frame film – 1965 and the mid-1990s – and had me on the edge of my seat all the way through.  Great film.

5.   The Rum Diary

Unknown

 

A very odd film.  It sounded OK on paper – American journalist  takes on a freelance job in Puerto Rico for a local newspaper during the 1960s and struggles to find a balance between island culture and the expatriates who live there – but the reality was just too tedious for words.  Another film I failed to get to the end of.

6.   Diana

o-DIANA-FILM-POSTER-570

 

My second visit to the cinema in September was to see Diana.  It was, as you can imagine, an absolutely cheese-fest.  I didn’t think Naomi Watts was a particularly convincing Diana, but it was quite watchable and presented an interesting interpretation of the events in the last few years of her life.  Probably not to be recommended unless, like me, you’re a big fan of the Royal Family.

So, film of the month?  The Debt.

Have you got any recommendations for me this month?

 

 

8 thoughts on “September Movies

  1. I have yet to see a movie with George Clooney in that I have enjoyed. However, I loved every episode of ER. I watched Priscilla Queen of the Desert the other night. 15 yrs old I think and I loved every minute of it. The one I want to see is Sunshine on the Leith which sounds fun.

  2. I sat through ‘The American’ at the movies years ago and couldn’t believe how dire it was. I also liked ‘Silver Linings Playbook.’ Have not seen anywhere showing Diana over here yet though – I am into the Royals so will go and see it though.
    We saw ‘Rush’ this past weekend which was ok I guess. Preferred ‘Blue Jasmine’ and ‘Thank you for sharing.’ On DVD whilst doing the ironing I just watched ‘Never Let me Go’ which was different but good. Also had a scene with my student Halls of Residence which was a surprise!!!

  3. Would like to see About Time as I think it is my sort of film, also quite fancy Rush but never get around to visiting the cinema. It’ll be on telly before long anyway.

  4. an olde but goody, what about You’ve Got Mail, just to hear it dial up like the old days. My Great Niece asked what the screeching noise was. I told her and she looked at me like I was nuts. lol oh to be 8. I will show her records one day and knock her sideways!

    I saw Elysium. I really liked it but everyone else doesn’t…

  5. I really enjoyed Silver Linings Playbook. and Untouchable is excellent if you haven’t seen it. and Alan Patridges new film had me roaring with laughter. I want to watch Searching for Sugarman which is apparently brilliant. Ian saw Rush and loved it. best seen in a cinema he said. apart from that one from the vaults is Lars and the Real Girl, which is an incredibly unlikely film (about mental illness again!) but actually very funny and totally and utterly heart warming. if you like a bit of heart warming. xx

Leave a Reply

