London Calling

I’ve been enjoying the List Challenges website recently – it makes for some great ideas on things to do and see, places to go, books to read, films to see etc etc.

One list that has inspired me is London Landmarks.  Out of the 55 landmarks listed, I’ve been to 19, and although some of the remaining ones are not necessarily places I’d want to visit (St Pancras Station, for example), and others are just plain odd (Chelsea football ground, anyone?), there are lots of good ones, too.   I’ve put together a list of the ones I’m interested in visiting.

  • The Houses of Parliament.  Although I’ve obviously seen these from the outside, my parents went and had a tour of the inside earlier this year, arranged through their local MP, and said it was absolutely fascinating.  This is right at the top of my list.
  • Buckingham Palace State Rooms tour.  Again, I’ve seen the outside many, many times, but would love to have a nosey inside.
  • Hampton Court Palace.
  • Kew Gardens
  • Royal Observatory, Greenwich.  Not so much for me, but I think Will would be really interested in this one.
  • Brick Lane – I’ve never been to East London and would love to go, so this seems as good a place as any to start.
  • The  top of The Shard
  • I’d also like to stay overnight in one of the famous old London hotels – The Ritz, The Savoy or Claridges.

I’d been hoping to go up to London by myself in November to catch up with various blogging friends and  to do a bit of shopping and sightseeing, but with the new house purchase going ahead (fingers crossed, finances are going to be tight until our current house sells, so a frivolous few days in the capital is looking unlikely, sadly.

So I shall have to put my list on hold for the moment, but I do hope I’ll be able to tick some things off it in 2014.

 

7 thoughts on “London Calling

  1. When my daughter was at Uni in London I used to go up for a weekend quite often and loved just wandering around on my own visiting places especially the art galleries. One place I missed though was St Pauls so this is on my want to see list. Not at all interested in Buck House though.

  2. I loved Brick Lane on Friday, I’m dying to go back and try one of the many Bangladeshi restaurants, the prices were as cheap as they are here and it all smelt wonderful! x

  3. Aw that’s a shame you cant go, but you are playing the long game. It can all happen after the house sale like you said. and the extra wait will make it better. What about the Albert Hall?

  4. Ooh I have lots of those on my list too!…. Happy to act as a tour guide when you get the chance to visit, especially around Brick Lane. Hope the house move is progressing… Have a lovely Thursday …Txx

  5. I can highly recommend both Brick Lane and Kew Gardens (though it is about 35 years since I last visited Kew.) St Pancras station is also rather nice – especially the statue of Sir John Betjeman – and they have a fabulous champagne bar there, too. I remember how hideously run-down St Pancras was in the mid-90s and the comparison between then and now is amazing.

Leave a Reply

