Reading & Watching Wednesdsay

It’s been a roller-coaster week.  This time last week our house purchase was about to go to the wall.  This week it’s  back on again.  If you’d have asked me to put money at the weekend on this being the outcome, I’d have laughed in your face.  Funny how things change.  Not over until the fat lady sings, though, as we all well know.  And I haven’t even started tuning up, yet!

Anyway, I’ve been reading quite a lot this last week.

I finished this yesterday:

51qMBS4IzxL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-66,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_

 

Unusually for a book, the first half was far better than the second – I felt it lost momentum after the voice changed to that of a different character, and I was a little bit bored.  The twist near the end didn’t ring true for me, either.  I do love Emily Barr’s books, generally, though, so it won’t put me off reading whatever she writes next.

I’ve just started this book:

kiss-river

 

Another of my favourite authors (I’m trying to catch up on the back catalogues of my favourites at the moment), and I’ve only read the first couple of chapters, but I’m not sure about this one.  Diane’s books usually suck me in from the very first page, and I’m not feeling it so much with this one, but maybe it will be a slow burner.

I’m late to the party with this, but I’ve recently discovered The Good Wife, and have been working my way through the first season.

1Sheet_Master.qxd

 

I’m really enjoying it, and I like the fact that each episode is a self-contained story, although with ongoing threads running through the whole series, so it’s easy to dip in and out of.

I see the TV schedules have defaulted to the usual autumn X Factor/Strictly Saturday night pap.  I used to enjoy both, but they’re just so far past their sell-by dates as far as I’m concerned, soooo boring.  I did watch the first couple of episodes of X Factor, but it was too dreadful even for my (admittedly pretty poor) taste in TV, and we had the first Strictly programme on in the background a week or so ago, but I didn’t recognise any of the so-called celebrities apart from Deborah Meaden and Vanessa Feltz.  Jolly glad I shall be away for very many of the coming weekends!!

Have you read or watched anything good lately?

 

7 thoughts on “Reading & Watching Wednesdsay

  1. Watching. I’ve been enjoying BBC4’s series about film music, which they follow up by showing films with great scores, like The Ipcress File. This evening, BBC4 again, a programme about the history of knitting, which I’m looking forward to. It’s the channel to watch!

  2. I’ve never been a fan of reality/talent shows. Not having a TV means I rely more on streaming and catch-up services. I can be more selective in my viewing pleasures and I get to watch it when it’s convenient for me.

    I’ve just switched over to Netflix and they have a lot of good quality TV series available. I’ve been ploughing my way through The West Wing which is excellent. Aaron Sorkin is a very accomplished writer. I’ve also enjoyed watching his current drama The Newsroom.

    Until GoT and Mad Men come back, I’ll probably get embroiled in the much acclaimed Breaking Bad and House of Cards.

  3. Fingers crossed for the house, I agree with you about X factor etc, has been’s or wanna be’s it is just so samey. I hav watched a few episodes of The Good Wife and thought it was quite good, lucky you escaping this cold weather soon. I have started Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparkes but have lost my reading mo-jo and have struggled for about a year to get into a book but have a few waiting to be read so am making more of an effort hoping I will get the reading bug again x Dawn

  4. I’ve never watched The Good Wife religiously but I do dip into it now and again. My favourite programme of the moment is without a doubt Scandal. And I’m excited about Homeland returning soon.

    Victoria

  5. I’ve never really been keen on X Factor, so I’m not watching that, but I do enjoy a bit of Strictly – although I feel they are dragging it out a bit now. I would like to be looking forward to Homeland, but I still haven’t seen Season 2!! It’s been on Catch Up TV, but I didn’t realise until it was too late, so I’ve missed it. I’ve also been watching the Great British Bake Off, which I love.

  6. So glad you like The Good Wife. We have watched it from series 1 to the present day. One of our favourite programmes. But for us the best actor in it is Alan Cummings. Just back from a visit to the UK and the dross of X-Factor just got me down. The acts were poor and the judges fawning over them made me feel ill.

    Reading wise I am in to Lisa Jewell at the moment.

    Glad to hear your house move is back on the cards.

  7. I love The Good Wife. The first couple of seasons were the best. I don’t watch it as often as I used to, though I still think it is very good, I usually tape it and catch up whenever. My absolute favorite part used to be the ringtone on Alicia’s phone whenever her mother-in-law called…Twilight Zone! LOL I HAD to make it the ringtone for my mil’s calls too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

