Slow Cooker Lamb Tagine

Photo 24-07-2013 19 08 20

 

My other half proclaimed this as the ‘best meal you’ve ever cooked in that thing’ (the slow cooker) – high praise indeed!  So I thought I’d share the recipe with you.  I’ve eaten tagines before and not really enjoyed them much, but I have to say this – somewhat thrown together – version was a winner, and I’ll definitely be cooking it again.

My apologies in advance for my sketchy ingredient amounts – I’m more your chuck-it-in cook, rather than weigh-it-out.

 Ingredients:

Lamb – I use a half leg cooked on the bone, but diced would work just as well, I imagine.

1 red onion,

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp all spice

1 tsp ground ginger

2 star anise

Some red wine – about a glassful

Some tomato puree – about half a tube

1 tsp chopped chilli

Dried fruit – I used apricots and sultanas, just because that was what I had in the cupboard, but you could use any dried fruit.

Method

Slice the onion and gently fry for a few mins to soften.  Add the meat  to seal and brown on all sides.  Then add the first three spices in the list, and give it all a good stir, then transfer it to the slow cooker.

Mix the wine, tomato puree, chopped chilli and a bit of hot water in a jug, add the star anises.

Pour this mixture over the meat and onions, and cook on low for about 10 hours, or on high for about 4 – 6 hours.  A couple of hours before the end of cooking, chuck in the dried fruit.

I found that I needed to add more hot water about halfway through cooking, but I guess that depends on the amount of liquid you start with and your slow cooker.

 

Well worth trying – yum!

4 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Lamb Tagine

  1. It looks so good, I had a lamb Tagine in Dartmouth and it was heavenly but I have never tried to cook one myself, your recipe sounds really easy (I am not a fan of sultana’s so I would leave them out), I am always looking for recipes for my slow cooker so this si going on the list, thanks for sharing x Dawn

  2. We hardly ever see lamb at the meat counters here, and yet today I saw some and almost picked it up. I wish I had. The reason I didn’t was because I wasn’t sure that I would be able to find the one lamb recipe I have that the family loved…it has been that long since I’ve made it!

Leave a Reply

