More Magazine Freebies

The summer months seem to be excellent for freebie gifts with magazines – I’ve spent more on magazines in the last two months than in the whole last year put together!

IMG_0235

 

Although it’s nearly the end of the month, I tracked all these magazines down this week, having chosen which freebies I fancied with this very helpful thread on the MoneySavingExpert forum, so if you fancy any of these free gifts, you should still be able to find the magazines in the shops for the next few days.

mag1

 

I don’t think I’ve ever purchased a copy of Harper’s Bazaar before (and, to be honest, I’m not sure I’d bother again), however, I love L’Occitane products, and really fancied trying this Creme Precieuse Immortelle, which has great reviews on their website.  A full size 50ml pot of this stuff retails at £43, which makes the 15ml ‘freebie’ pot worth £12.90.  Not bad for a £4 spend, I thought.

Red Magazine came with a REN trio of cleansing gel, day cream and night cream – perfect travel sizes, which is always useful.

mag2

 

Glamour (what a trashy mag this is!) came with a choice of Balance Me products – I got the super toning body wash.  Have heard a lot of good things about this brand so looking forward to trying this out.

And finally, In Style had a freebie Rituals mascara.  A brand I’ve never heard of before, but I’ll give anything a go once, and again the travel size really appealed to me.

* * *

Thought I’d just do a quick update on last month’s magazine freebies, as I’ve now had a chance to try them all:

ModelCo Cosmetics lipgloss – loved it.

ModelCo Cosmetics mascara – dreadful, had great difficulty getting enough product onto my eyelashes to make any difference to their appearance at all.  Much prefer my £1.99 NYC Showtime from Superdrug!

Elemis Illuminating Flash Balm – fabulous product, will definitely be purchasing this as soon as my freebie one runs out.

Ciate Caviar Manicure – big fail!  The nail polish was really streaky, even with a couple of coats, and the little ‘caviar’ balls were  really fiddly to apply, and didn’t last even one evening!

Win some, lose some, eh?

10 thoughts on “More Magazine Freebies

  1. Last month I bought the Glamour mag (so glad you agree about what a trashy magazine it is – I barely looked at a quarter of it before it went in the recycling box) to get the ModelCo mascara because I liked the idea of the little mirror, and my current mascara was nearly finished. Anyway, I would say I was totally underwhelmed by it, and will not be switching to that brand!

  2. A friend in the States was raving about a new Clarins mascara making her lashes thicker and longer and lasting for ever. Went on their site but it was 21 quid too much for me.

  3. Must say I’m a sucker for the free gifts with mags, have been known to buy several copies of the same one, even the previously mentioned rubbish Glamour. Its great to get travel sizes, like the Ren products, and a bonus if the mag is readable.

  4. I also love L’Occitane products and you have had a great bargain, I love Money Saving Expert and have saved so much on lunches as I found out about voucher codes from there, glad you are back love seeing all your finds x Dawn

  5. I bought Glamour just for the mascara after reading your last freebie post and I must say I actually quite like it but maybe that’s cos my eyelashes are quite fair & I don’t need too much!

Leave a Reply

