Reading & Watching Wednesday

I did loads of reading on holiday, and really started to get quite well with my Kindle – much better than I ever thought I would.   Although real books will always be my preference, I can see that eReaders have their place, too.

I read a total of 7 books while I was away, and my favourites were these two:

Unknown

 

A real page-turning thriller.  I finished this on the plane on the way home, and it made the flight go past in the flash.  It’s the first in a series, so I’m looking forward to reading the next one now.

whatthenannysaw

 

Loved this story about a girl who goes to work as a nanny for a very rich London family, set during the beginning of the credit crunch.  This book is more meaty than the title would have you believe, and the characters were all brilliantly written.  Highly recommended.

pear shaped

 

I’m currently reading this, which is just OK.  As you’d imagine from the cover, really.  Easy reading, and brief moments of humour.

Watching-wise, I’ve been catching up with my Sky Plus this week.  I’m still a couple of episodes behind on The White Queen.

The White Queen

 

I’m not loving it as much as I thought I would (it’s certainly not anywhere near as compelling as The Tudors, for me), and I’m finding it difficult to follow exactly who is who, and what their claim on the throne is.  And it’s not just me being thick, Ashley said the same.

Is anybody else watching this?  What do you think of it?

10 thoughts on “Reading & Watching Wednesday

  1. Saw excerpts of The White Queen and though I love history, this wasn´t for me. I really hate it when they turn an historical event in to a modern soap. I like accuracy and the feeling that I am in that period, dirt and all, of which there is precious little in most of this type of saga. But then I hated The Tudors for just this point. I am reading a preview copy of Stormbird (War of the Roses) and that is also told in the same way which grates, so much so that I have moved on to Road to Rouen by Ben Hatch which I am giggling my way through. I much preferred the old Anya Seyton books, especially Katherine which was about John of Guant.

  2. I think I might enjoy What the Nanny saw but haven’t had time to read any books since I got back from Croatia. Not watching The White Queen but absolutely hooked on C4’sThe Returned although it’s the final episode this weekend.

  3. I read the book the White Queen last year and enjoyed that so it helped to know a bit more of what is going on when watching the series!
    Lisa x

  4. Bee is watching ‘The White Queen’ and loving it. We just watched Luther which I didn’t think so good this year. We’ve also been watching the ‘Routemasters’ about the London transport people which sounds nerdy but is fascinating. However summer addiction is THE AMERICANS. About 1980s ‘undercover Russian spies’ living in America. It sounds bad but it is really reall good.
    Glad you liked ‘What the nanny saw.’ I agree – a lot better than the title which makes it sounds a bit light weight.
    I just finished ‘The Blasphemer’ – AMAZING. Also the new Imogen Edward-Jones ‘Restaurant Babylon’ which I think you’d like and I am staying up past midnight most night’s reading ‘ The House we grew up in’ by Lisa Jewell – also really really good.
    I will look out for the ‘Now you see me’ – is it the one that is the film out at the moment?

    • Love the Americans too and the Returned but Luther is my fav really good to see Alice back and to be able to droll over Idris Elba!

    • Don’t know how I’ve missed The Americans – sounds right up my street. Will have to wait for the DVD. Have The Blasphemer in my bookcase, will read it next!

Leave a Reply

