June Movies

New-Years-Eve-2011-Movie-Blu-ray-Cover-600x763

 

Great ensemble cast, entertaining and fun.  Strange time of year to watch a movie about New Year’s Eve, I know, but I enjoyed it.

flight

 

I had hoped to see this at the cinema when it came out at the beginning of the year, but didn’t manage to make it, so was really looking forward to it coming out on DVD.  Although I enjoyed the film overall, it wasn’t what the trailer had lead me to believe –  the amazing flying-and-saving-the-lives-of-a-planeload-of-people by Denzel Washington’s pilot character is only the catalyst for the rest of the story, rather than the main act, so to speak.  Worth seeing, but if you’re expecting an edge-of-your-seat action thriller, make the most of the first 20 minutes!

iy0kB

 

We’re enjoying the fact that Lovefilm are now renting 3D blu-rays, as we don’t often get a chance to use the 3D feature of our TV, so we had a great Saturday moveie night (and we even had popcorn!) watching this entertaining family thriller.  Michael Caine is great in it.

the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-movie-poster-2012-1010752000

 

Meh!  Hadn’t read the book, so had no pre-conceived ideas about this.   American teenage angst.  ‘Nuff said.

18894444_700x700min_1

 

I was quite glad that Will was unexpectedly out when Ashley and I decided to watch this, as it would have been too gruesome for a 13 year old, I feel.  Another 3D movie, absolutely brilliant cinematography, edge of your seat exciting, a proper story with a beginning, a middle and an end.  If you like action adventure movies, you’ll love this.  I think it should be rated 18 rather than 15, though.  Just saying.

nowisgoodartworkpic

 

Another film-of-a-book, this is based on Jenny Downham’s beautifully-written and haunting novel, Before I Die, about the last year of life of a teenage girl with leukaemia.  Dakota Fanning is stunning in the lead role, with a flawless English accent, and the rest of the cast are excellent, too.

This movie is not for the faint-hearted, though – although the book brought a tear to my eye, the I found the film much more emotional, and I actually had to switch it off 10 minutes before the end, as I was just finding it too upsetting.  I’ve NEVER had to do that with a film before, EVER!  Would still rate it very highly though.

 

What have you seen lately?  Any recommendations for me?

 

 

3 thoughts on “June Movies

Leave a Reply

