Holiday Packing Post #3

Only five days to go now …. am getting excited!

First up today, three holiday essentials: sun tan lotion, aftersun, and mossie repellent.

IMG_0469

 

I don’t have a favoured brand when it comes to sun tan lotion – as long as it’s got the right SPF and isn’t too gloopy, I’ll go with whichever is the best deal at the time.  I think the price of sun tan lotion has come down dramatically over the last few years, seems so much cheaper to me now. 

Anyway, this is Superdrug own brand, and I always buy one bottle of high, one medium and one low.  New each year, because as we all know, the protection deteriorates over time.

IMG_0471

 

When it comes to aftersun, this is my absolute favourite, and I haven’t bought a different brand for years.  Soothing and moisturising, smells lovely, and not too expensive – perfect!

IMG_0470

 

If there is a mosquito around, it will bite me.  This is a picture of my legs on holiday in Greece in 2008.

141_4156

 

Suffice to say, I don’t bother with any insect repellent you can buy in Boots, I buy the really strong, minimum 55% Deet stuff you can get on the internet.  It’s more expensive, but not as expensive as the doctor’s bill was for anti-histamine injections to sort the above out!

I also take a bottle of the Apivita basil and geranium spray pictured as well (which I can only get from Greece on the internet), which smells fab, is apparently a natural insect repellent, and soothes any bites you do get better than anything else I’ve ever tried.

Moving on, one of the most important things I take on holiday is my reading matter.  This has been revolutionised somewhat this year by my new Kindle, which I only use occasionally at home, but will come into its own abroad.  I had a bit of a downloading frenzy over the weekend, and this is what I chose.

hol books

 

I couldn’t resist a couple of ‘real’ books as well, so I chose these  two from my bookshelf.

hols books2

 

This time next week, I will hopefully be on my sunbed by the pool, deep in one of these and with a refreshing drink to hand!

 

5 thoughts on “Holiday Packing Post #3

  1. First of all books – I have read Revenge of the Tides and whilst not as good as In the Darkest Corner is still enjoyable. If you can get citronella locally either in a shower gel or as a liquid that really helps. Re the basil and geranium. I made up a little plastic bottle of water with citronella and basil leaves which I spray on in the evening and I haven´t had a single bite this year. I can remember having a similar reaction in Greece as you so perhaps the mossies are more aggresive there than Spain.

  2. Oh, those poor bitten legs!

    Hope you have a wonderful trip. Don’t forget to pack the recharger for Kindle, and a zipper-seal plastic bag that Kindle will fit in…you know, in case you want to read IN the pool or tub! 🙂

  3. I have read 3 of those and they were good…. the ‘what the nanny saw’ and ‘the sea change’ (which took a while but I liked it in the end) and also the Elizabeth Haynes which I agree was not as good as her others.
    I have bought a mosquito band after being bitten already 3 days into our fortnight here – but nothing compares to that suffering….. how did you not just scratch your legs to smithereens?

Leave a Reply

