Out Of My Comfort Zone

On Friday night, we went camping.  It was the first time I’ve slept in a tent for at least fifteen years.  I am not a natural camper, it must be said – really, I’m more a five star luxury kinda gal!

However, I decided to give it a go, as Ashley and William both love camping, and do you know what?  It wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought – I even quite enjoyed some parts of it!

Our chosen location was Dartmoor, which is only a short drive away, and has a great place for camping that Ashley’s been going to for over 25 years.  It’s not an official campsite, just a field with a river running along the bottom of it, which the farmer lets people camp in for £3 per night.  ‘Facilities’ (an outside toilet and a cold water tap two fields away) are limited, but it’s a beautiful spot and you can have open fires, which you can’t in the vast majority of campsites.  There were only around half a dozen other tents there while we were there, and it really is a beautiful spot.

IMG_0247

 

Photo 01-06-2013 12 30 11

 

Things I Enjoyed:

  • Being outside in the sunshine.
  • Walking to the local pub (!)
  • Our big new tent with sleeping compartments.
  • My new sleeping bag – so cosy and warm.
  • Yummy food cooked over a camp fire.
  • The loo was far cleaner and more pleasant than I remember it being the last time I went there!!

IMG_0249

 

Photo 31-05-2013 20 49 42

 

Things I Didn’t Like So Much:

  • The loo being two fields away – though this was only really a problem at night – so I just went behind the tent!
  • My airbed leaking and ending up on the floor in the middle of the night.
  • The bull in the field between me and the loo!
  • The length of time the kettle took to boil.
  • Warm white wine – need to take a cool box and ice packs next time.
  • Not sleeping very well.

Photo 01-06-2013 12 29 16

 

Photo 01-06-2013 12 30 57 (1)

 

Ashley swimming (he was only in there for about three seconds, I might add!)

The Very Best Thing of All:

Quality family time with no electronics, no phone signal whatsoever, just the three of us spending time together and enjoying each other’s company.  Will changed from his current default setting of grumpy teenager to a lovely, chatty, funny member of the human race for a whole 24 hours.  I literally can’t remember the last time I went 24 hours without looking at a screen of some sort (and sadly, I think it might be years), but it was great to just switch off, sit in the sun, read, chat and laugh.

We’re already planning our next trip.

 

6 thoughts on “Out Of My Comfort Zone

  1. Isnt Devon BEAUTIFUL!!!???!!!! How I miss it.

    The bull would have scared me to death, don’t blame you for not trying at night.

    I love camping. I feel free. I am what I am calling ‘shutting the gate’. I borrowed the idea from the Down to Earth blog by Rhonda. And for one weekend a month, other than my camera. I am going electronic free. I have done it only the once since coming back from my hols. But boy did it feel good.

    I bet William loved it. Was probably glad to get back to his phone etc. But they look so relaxed in that picture. How lovely.

  2. What a really wonderful family weekend you had. And it’s in a location so close too.
    Here’s hoping the next one is just as much fun and the white wine is cooler!
    William is looking so grown up!!!
    Lisa x

  3. So good to have some family time like that with no distractions. Looks lovely where you were, definitely my sort of place. Love camping…if it’s dry and sunny. Tend to be a camper of the fair weather kind (+don’t want to put the kids off!)
    You’ll have to go again (with a cool box) x

  4. Ok so when I read this as I ate my cereal this morning I thought your blog had been hacked or that it was a sponsored post. Sorry – that sounds as though I have no faith in you! Having met you in real life, it just seemed not very you – again I sound rude but I hope you know what I mean.
    I am so glad you had a good time. I camped a lot as a kid and would love to do it again – but maybe just in UK as the bears/snakes part scares me over here. William looked very happy and I bet he was pleased as punch you were there.
    I know exactly what you mean about the freedom of no screens……. and I don’t think you missed any big event in the world. And it seems for once the weather was on your side too!!!

  5. Pingback: May Wrap-Up | Mrs M's Meanderings

  6. We have a tent that is mostly only used for teenagers to camp in the back garden. I really should make the effort to go somewhere with it for a night or two this summer. I think my other half could be persuaded, although he is far from a natural camper, and I’m sure my little one would love it. May even be able to persuade a teenager or two to come.

Leave a Reply

