Blanket Ta-Dah!

I’ve been awake since about 6.15 this morning, and had a cup of tea in bed whilst finishing my book before getting up, dealing with emails and wrapping some eBay parcels.  It’s now 8.45 and the rest of the household is still fast asleep, so I thought I’d do a quick post to show you my finally finished crochet blanket, before switching the computer off for a few hours.

Sadly, yesterday’s sunshine has been replaced with yet more high winds and thick cloud, destined only to get worse throughout today, I understand, so I’m glad I was up and awake to enjoy the couple of of hours of blue skies we had earlier on.

So, without further ado, here is my first ever crochet blanket.

Photo 22-05-2013 12 08 57

 

Photo 22-05-2013 12 08 36

 

Although I sewed in two of the squares upside down, I don’t think anybody other than me would notice, and I just couldn’t bring myself to unpick all the joining together when I realised that I’d done it.

Photo 22-05-2013 12 11 22

 

Photo 22-05-2013 12 11 32

 

I’m really pleased with the colour schemeI chose, and I think it goes perfectly on the back of my sofa.  Size-wise, I think I probably could have made it a bit bigger, but the size was mostly dictated by the amount of yarn I’d bought!

Photo 22-05-2013 12 08 29

 

It took about 3 and a half months to complete, and I had periods of a few days at a time within that when I didn’t fancy doing any at all, so I didn’t.

I found the joining together of all the squares by far the most tedious bit, and that ended up taking about three or four weeks, because I was so bored.  When I next make a blanket, I’ll certainly consider a join-as-you-go method.

Photo 22-05-2013 12 11 52

 

Photo 22-05-2013 12 11 57

 

 

11 thoughts on “Blanket Ta-Dah!

  1. It’s beautiful! I’m so impressed – all those crocheted circles! Looks lovely on the back of your sofa. Can imagine how tedious the sewing up bit was, probably why my granny squares are still sitting in a bag..x

  2. Caroline this is GORGEOUS! Can’t believe this is a first, your crocheting is so neat.
    The ladies at Stitch and Bitch advised me to crochet my granny squares together as I go, although I haven’t done so yet as I am still about 70 short of the required number. What are you doing next?

  3. That’s funny, the other morning I was awake at 6 am, made tea, had a biscuit, read my book in bed. However the similarity stops there I can’t for the life of me crochet so I am full of admiration. I really like the pattern a modern slant on granny squares.

  4. Pingback: May Wrap-Up | Mrs M's Meanderings

Leave a Reply

