Wonderful Wool / Cool Colours

I am very very close to the end of the crochet blanket that I started at the beginning of February, and although I’ve enjoyed making it, I’ve decided to do some smaller projects over the summer, and have seen all sorts of lovely little things to make – pretty flowers, baby bootees (no, I’ve no happy news to share – a friend has just had a baby!), crochet bunting, and an iPad case are just some of the things that have caught my eye.

With that in mind, I decided to treat myself to some new yarn in summery colours, and I picked up some bargains from Wool Warehouse.  I haven’t bought wool online before, so I was a little wary about how accurate the colours would be on screen, but overall, I’m pleased.

I’m not the world’s most creative or artistic person, and I’m not brilliantly confident at putting colours together, so Pinterest has been an absolute Godsend.  I wanted summery colours, and I think I’ve done pretty well at matching up these colour palettes – what do you reckon?

2987e61c3831c32fa01bb933e67208b7

 

IMG_0083

 

 

aca1a97df2109c82d0d5f1fda87d965a

 

IMG_0082

 

The second and third from the left in this one are a bit off, but I still think it’s an overall nice colour combo.

 

c4821115c7917c3caaf7d7990cc3360f

IMG_0081

 

 

Oh, and another thing I shall definitely be crocheting this summer is one of these, for Fred:

 

 

9 thoughts on “Wonderful Wool / Cool Colours

  1. This brings up a question I’ve wondered about for a long time. When I’ve seen UK knitters/crocheters refer to wool, I’ve always wondered if it is really wool, or a generic term for all yarns. I see some of your gorgeous yarns are 100% cotton, and some are alpaca and silk blend (couldn’t tell about the third grouping. So do you refer to all of the above as wool? In the states I always hear/say cotton yarn, wool/silk blend yarn, etc. Just curious. GORGEOUS colors by the way!

  2. I’m not so smart at putting colours together, your idea is brilliant. Next time I see a colour combo I like in a magazine I’m going to cut it out and keep it for reference. Lots of lovely yarn by the way, enjoy.

  3. Pingback: May Wrap-Up | Mrs M's Meanderings

Leave a Reply

