Lyme Regis Weekend

The eagle eyed amongst you no doubt noticed the lack of Sunday Car Booty post from me yesterday, but I did have a good excuse – we were away for the weekend with my parents and my brother and his family in Lyme Regis.

Although Lyme is only just over an hour’s drive from us, I’ve only ever driven through it, and I was really pleasantly surprised by what a lovely place it is.  We stayed at the Alexandra Hotel, which is set high up on the cliffs above the sea with a beautiful garden and amazing views.

images

 

 

lime-leaf-weddings-devon-wedding-photographer-101212-125104

 

 

5703_Hotel-in-Lyme-regis

 

alexandra-bedroom-2

 

Must admit the above pictures are from Google Images, as the weather was so awful most of the time we were there that I didn’t snap many pics of my own.

As it’s still school holidays we were able to leave early on Friday and arrived in Lyme in time for lunch.  We treated ourselves to lunch at the Hix Oyster and Fish House , which was fabulous, perched up on the cliff and looking over The Cobb.

near-mark-hix-oyster-and-fish-house-in-lyme-regis-for-fine-dining_hedgehog-corner-exclusive-camping_full

I’m not usually a lover of oysters, but I did  enjoy these ones, fried in a very light cider batter and served in their shells with tarragon mayo.

IMG_2811

 

For main course, I had the most delicious fish pie I’ve ever eaten, but I failed to take a photo of it, I’m afraid!  Ashley had scallops, which were equally nice, and William (who isn’t keen on fish) had a steak , which he pronounced excellent.

I did manage to take a panoramic photo of the view from Hix, which was stunning.  (Had no idea my iPhone could take panoramic photos until now, despite having had the thing for nearly three months!   Teenagers do have their uses, after all, it seems!)

IMG_2812

 

We were glad we were able to get out and about, and also sit in the hotel garden for late afternoon drinks on the Friday, as Saturday it literally poured with rain all day.  We did manage to have a wander around the town in the morning – I checked out the charity shops with my sister-in-law, but they were far too pricy for my liking – gents wool overcoat £50, well worn Coast cotton dress £35, and a pair of used Per Una shoes £25!  We then took the kids to the amusement arcade, and spent a happy hour or so playing on the 2p machines.  After a pub lunch, though, it was so wet that we had to head back to the hotel for the rest of the day.

I would definitely go back to Lyme Regis again, it’s a quirky little seaside town and a bit more upmarket than a lot of the other seaside towns on the south coast – although the charity shops were too pricy for me, it was nice (and increasingly unusual these days) to see a lot of interesting independent shops on the high street.

IMG_9710

IMG_9715

 

11 thoughts on “Lyme Regis Weekend

  1. I had a very happy weekend in Lyme Regis a good few years ago now, and your post makes we want to go back! I did part of the coastal walk along the cliff tops towards Bridport and it was just beautiful.
    Hotel and food look fabulous! Sounds like you had a lovely time with your family.

  2. Hi I love Lyme Regis they were doing welly throwing when I was there last!
    The hotel looks beautiful & that’s a fantastic view. You find some lovely places to stay. Makes me want to go again seeing your stay . Glad you had a lovely time x

  3. That looks like it was a lovely weekend. I’ve never been to Lyme Regis – much to my shame – maybe I’ll have a trip there if we have any summer this year (and I, for one, am keeping everything crossed that we do!!)

  4. I visited Lyme in1999 whilst staying down the road in Charmouth and liked it very much. I walked seven miles over Golden Cap, boy did my legs ache. I missed Car Booty, but pleased you had a good weekend.

  5. Pingback: April Wrap-Up | Mrs M's Meanderings

Leave a Reply

