Reading & Watching Wednesday

9781847445209

 

I’d read several good review of this book online, and ordered it from the library.  It’s a little while since I got stuck into a good thriller, so picked it up yesterday and started it.  I’m only 100 pages in, but it’s very compelling and I’m enjoying the writing style.  It’s written in two different timelines, telling the story of what happened many years ago interspersed with what’s going on now, and both stories have me hooked.

230px-Spooks_10_DVD

 

After a few days away last week, and with the school holidays in full swing, I don’t seem to have had much time to catch up with my Sky Planner, but am enjoying the final season of Spooks on DVD.  I’ve absolutely loved this series, and have watched every episode over the last 12 months or so, as it managed to completely pass me by when it was on TV.  I don’t think the last couple of series are quite as good as the rest, but I have immensely enjoyed it overall.  Brilliant TV!

What are you reading and watching at the moment?

4 thoughts on “Reading & Watching Wednesday

  1. I have heard of this book so let me know how it is (I always check your ratings on books anyhow). I just finished ‘the Middlesteins’ which has had a lot of hype here and was very good. I too am about to start a thriller… ‘Still Missing’ by Chevy Stevens which I read a favourable review of.
    I loved watching ‘Spooks’ and liked the last series as I recall. I was catching up with ‘Broadchurch’ last night and have also been watching ‘The Inbetweeners’ on line. We also have to start watching the US version of ‘House of Cards’ which has gotten rave reviews. I watched the BBC version years ago and was most impressed. Oh and we also just watched this series of ‘Prisoners’ Wives’ which I didn’t like as much as the first one but was still quite good.

    • Be interested to hear what you think of Still Missing – I read it on hol last year, and it was just OK for me. Haven’t yet managed to even start this series of Prisoners’ Wives, or Broadchurch – am hoping to do so this afternoon!

  2. I’m just working my way backwards through Spooks which I know is perhaps a bit of a cack-handed way of doing it but I have seen it all before. Fantastic storylines, really gripping TV. I think the best episodes are the ones with Adam and Ros in them. The earlier series seem to be ‘lighter’ and the later episodes considerably ‘darker’. I’ve even introduced my nephew to them (though I do have to censor which episodes he watches) and he is gripped by it too – and he can follow what is going on much better than I can!!

Leave a Reply

