Reading & Watching Wednesday

Yes,  yes, I know it’s Thursday.  It’s been that kind of a week.

IMG_2594

 

I’m just coming to the end of Bill Bryson’s book about his travels around England, and have mostly enjoyed it.  There are some absolutely laugh out loud moments in it, but I have found my mind wandering a little at times.  I think it’s one of those books that’s probably better dipped into a little at a time rather than read all at once.

Next up is Caitlin Moran’s How to Be A Woman, which I’ve been meaning to read since it was published.  I have read the prologue, which I found very disappointing, but will reserve further judgement until I’ve got further into it.

34282

Has anybody else been watching this BBC Three series?  It’s kind of a scientific blind date – hundreds of couples were matched up based on their scientific compatibility on paper, and followed for a year to see what happens.  Some dropped out of the experiment immediately, having hated each other upon sight, some are in serious relationships a year on, and then there’s everything in between as well.  It’s rare that there’s something that’s a completely original idea on TV these days, and I’ve really enjoyed the opportunity to have a nose into people’s relationships.

I’ll try and be on time for next week’s post!

 

2 thoughts on “Reading & Watching Wednesday

  1. I read Notes from a Small Island quite a few years ago and really enjyed it – lots of laugh out loud moments, as you say. I then read some of his other books – a couple about America and I think he did another UK one, but I’m not sure. Anyway, they were all good. I haven’t heard of the Caitlin Moran book, so I’d be interested to hear what you think when you have finished it.
    I’m not watching the TV programme, but I wish I had – it sounds interesting!

  2. I really loved Bill Bryson’s A Walk In the Woods about walking the Appalachian Trail. I’ll have to look for Notes From a Small Island. (However I didn’t care for his From A Sunburned Land about Australia…I really wanted to…but I just couldn’t get into it no matter how much I tried.)

Leave a Reply

