February Wrap-Up

I literally cannot believe that February went by so fast, and here we are at the start of March.

The month started wet and progressed to cold.  Both of which I hate.  The cold brought less rain, though, which was nice.  The only sign of spring so far is the blossom on the tree in our garden (pic on my blog header), which has sprung into flower far earlier than usual.

February bagan with William becoming a teenager – I still can’t quite believe not only that I’m the mother of a teenager, but also that I’m going to be 45 this year.  I know it’s only a number, but I don’t want to be five years away from 50, I really don’t.

This was quickly followed by another landmark birthday – my mother’s 70th.  She and my Dad went away for a couple of nights to a hotel in Devon to celebrate, and my brother, his wife, Ashley and I joined them for the second day and night as a surprise for my mum, and we had a really lovely time.  No photos, unfortunately, as they are on the memory card inside my camera, which is still somewhere near Milton Keynes being mended.

The following week was half term, which went by in a flash, but was pretty full of fun stuff – cinema, off-road driving, Longleat, a fab night away in a hotel.

February’s been a good month for second hand shopping, with lots of bargains from the £1.99-for-everything Barnardo’s shop, and several better-than-expected-in-February car boot sales.

And a bit of good news on the work front as well – the NHS have finally found me some work – 10 hours a week in the Mental Health Dept (no jokes, thank you!), starting on 19th March.  It’s less than ideal that it starts the week before the school holidays commence, and I haven’t yet told them that I’m going to be away on the third week so won’t be able to work, but we’ll see how it goes.  At least when I’ve completed three shifts, I’ll be eligible to get paid for all the training I did back in January.

Right, March, let’s be having you!

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “February Wrap-Up

  1. The work could be interesting keep us abreast. February is only 28 days which may be why it seems so much shorter. I always think that March sounds warmer than February. Weather in Spain is dreadful howling wind and pouring rain.

  2. Sounds like you’ve had a busy time – I know what you mean about approaching 50, too scary for me I’m staying 40 something! Good luck with the job.

  3. Hope all goes well with the NHS work. I once worked in the psychiatric dept at the Queen’s Medical Centre in Nottingham and I found the work fascinating – if rather sad at times. Being 50 is not so bad – honest!!

Leave a Reply

