What I’m Reading Wednesday

41ExAkFr8bL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU02_

 

I’ve just finished a re-read of Emily by Jilly Cooper.  I first discovered these books as a teenager, and devoured them all – they seemed terribly racy at the time!  I think my favourite was Octavia.  When I found a couple of them in a charity shop for 40p each, I couldn’t resist picking them up and returning to my youth, and I thoroughly enjoyed stepping back in time briefly.  They are terribly dated, though, nowadays – in one scene, a doctor gives a pregnant woman a large brandy for shock!  Heavens, I don’t know what today’s PC crowd would make of that!

And next,  for something completely different …

51yVpEac6OL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU02_

 

Just started this, on the recommendation of my reading buddy Mumof4.  It is, as one would expect from the cover, very dark, but I’m enjoying it so far.  And I’ve just had an email from the library saying that another of Gillian Flynn’s books that I ordered is ready to collect – Gone Girl.  Which is on the latest list of Richard & Judy Book Club reads.

Have you read anything good lately?

7 thoughts on “What I’m Reading Wednesday

  1. Racy is the word! I can still remember how as a teenager I thought JC made the world of being grown up sound very exciting indeed! I loved Emily, I’ve still got Octavia by my bed to read.

  2. I’m not sure I read Jilly Cooper as a teen but just last night I remembered having read ‘Lace’ as a teen and thinking it was very raunchy too! Thought about whether I would be happy with Bee reading it…. I loved ‘Defending Jacob’ (which Bee is now reading). I am very much enjoying ‘Sworn to Silence’ by Linda Castillo. New author to me and not necessarily the genre I always go for but I am hooked! Was up until 11.45pm reading it…. and am staying in this morning until I finish it!

  3. I’ve been wanting to read Gone Girl. The stuff I read as a teenager actually WAS pretty racy…my sister was nine years older than I, and married, She shared everything she read with me. My mother would probably have killed us both if she had had a clue. I think I read Jacqueline Susann in junior high. Yikes!

  4. I love book review, recommended reads always go on my “to do” list. I’d not heard of Dark Places or the author. I haven’t read a Jilly Cooper since my teens, maybe it’s time for a re-read!

  5. Blimey, I read Valley of The Dolls too, I’d forgotten about that, it was so long ago. I also used to read Jackie Collins and Harold Robbins in my teens. Love Jilly’s novels and have read all her ‘bonk busters’ but not read her early stuff so will look out for it.

Leave a Reply

